We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location!”
Review of Park Slope Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brooklyn
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Park Slope Inn
Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the 4th st location and were in 4B. This was a great experience and we would book this again. The location is perfect! We were in town for a wedding and were able to walk to & from several bars & restaurants. We also walked to the Picnic House at Prospect Park for the ceremony.
I knew exactly what to expect upon arrival because I had read several reviews. Marcie greeted us and was very nice! She was friendly, asked if we had any questions about the area, and provided us with a map. She also helped us up the stairs with our very heavy luggage. Other than these few minutes spent with her, we did not see any 'management' during our 2-night stay. This was fine for us, as we're very low-maintenance. There's no breakfast or on-site staff. Marcie provided her number and welcomed us to call, should we need anything. There is coffee and a coffee pot in the room, but bring your own cream & sugar. A few suggestions for management: a full-length mirror, more hangers, and an ironing board (even the dorm-style kind that can be stored under a bed would've been helpful and safer). The lack of a full-length mirror was my only real annoyance. I'm 5'1" and could barely see in the bathroom mirror. There was a very small decorative mirror in the room that would've been fine for hair & make-up, but it was placed well over my head.
Overall, his was a fantastic place. A true brownstone experience. If you're looking for a no-frills, beautiful, and charming place to rest after enjoying all that Park Slope has to offer, then Park Slope Inn is your place. We will return.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vegetarian13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 74 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2013

As usual, we booked Park Slope Inn as our home base for our annual Brooklyn visit. Though we weren't able to get our usual room, I was pleased to find the one we stayed in was just as well appointed and as adorably furnished as the room we'd come to love so well (which had made me imagine we were in Paris on the left bank). Marcie was accommodating and friendly as always and a font of information about local services. We look forward to returning next year!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fiddleronthescreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

I will always stay at Park Slope Inn when in New York. The rooms are light and spacious and charming, the location is great, and the price is so reasonable. All of these things make it a wonderful place to stay, but if I had to choose one thing it would be the size of the rooms. So often in NY hotel rooms are minuscule. These rooms are large. What a treat!

Room Tip: They're all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Craig L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Our family consisted of 10 people, 4 adult couples including one couple with 2 teenagers. Renting a house was too complicated and expensive, but it was important that all of us be together. We were in Brooklyn to attend our son's wedding and it was also our yearly family reunion. The Center Park Slope Inn was perfect for us! We rented 3 of the 4 private rooms and the garden apartment. Each couple had a cozy, clean room and the garden apartment was large enough for the couple with the 2 teenagers. One of the best surprises was that the private garden turned out to be a large, beautiful, private backyard where all of us could gather to talk. It was so much fun for all of us to sit on the stoop of this old brownstone and have the chance to feel what it would be like to live in Brooklyn.

Room Tip: Each room is very cozy, but my husband and I liked and would take again, room 3b because it has a mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Connie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We recently stayed at both the South Slope and the Center Slope garden
apartments, and really enjoyed both places. It gave us a chance to experience 2 different
parts of the neighborhood. Both are good locations, convenient to great
restaurants and an easy walk to the subway.
Both apartments were extremely comfortable and had everything we needed.
The owners were very nice and helpful! I would definitely recommend the
apartments if you prefer to have more space and a kitchen when travelling.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shlomo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I expected more from this inn. We stayed for 3 nights with another couple. The location is great - really convenient to restaurants, shops, the botanic garden, etc. and the neighborhood is charming. The Inn is in a really nice brownstone and the rooms were good sized, especially for NYC. Our friends had a room on the second floor front and we had a room on the 3rd in back. The 2nd fl. room was better appointed with a flat screen TV and a standing mirror (more on this later). It was also a bit more spacious and had more light. Both rooms had ceiling fans which was really nice. Both also had very loud rattly window airconditioners. So, not bad for the money. However, the service was almost non-existent. It took at least a day to get responses to emails which was frustrating. They did turn up the blankets each day, emptied the trash once and replaced towels once. Yet in 3 days, they never wiped down the bathrooms or replaced coffee cups or water glasses. In fairness, we did not ask for these services, but should we have to? Now to the need for a standing mirror (our room did not have one) - the rooms were poorly designed for anyone who is on the short side. The bathroom mirrors in both rooms were placed at 5 feet high at the bottom - I never saw my face during our stay - a challenge for putting on make-up and doing my hair. The bed was also quite high and there were no stools to assist anyone who couldn't make the leap into bed. I think it is still a good option for a NYC stay but they should decide if it is a housekeeping situation and provide dish soap and cleaning products or if they are a full service inn. It would help in managing the expectations of their customers and maybe prevent the overall sense of disappointment that we had based on the glowing reviews.

Room Tip: Ask for a front room if street noise doesn;t bother you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklynite08, Owner at Park Slope Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

It is disappointing for us when a guest is not 100% satisfied. We try to be clear about
our services in an effort to avoid this. We ask guests to leave any towels to be replaced
on the bathroom floor. We do this in an effort to be as "green" as possible. We apologize
if this wasn't communicated properly. I am also perplexed about "emails not being
responded to right away", as we are generally very responsive.
Lastly, all rooms have been upgraded to include a flat screen tv.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Both south slope and central apartments. The ground floor works best for us. Both are a couple of blocks from the subway . Central is right by a lot of eateries. We went to two different French places, both excellent. It is also rit across from the bagel shop for breakfast.

Room Tip: Unless you do stairs, get the ground floor unit
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulSyracuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Le Bleu
Hotel Le Bleu
#17 of 73 in Brooklyn
1,072 reviews
2.6 mi away
Lefferts Manor Bed & Breakfast
3 mi away
J-Stel
J-Stel
#17 of 55 in Brooklyn
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
NY Moore Hostel
NY Moore Hostel
#1 of 55 in Brooklyn
206 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Brooklyn/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Slope Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Slope Inn

Address: 4th Street, Brooklyn, NY 11215
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Brooklyn
Price Range: $150 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small B&B style hotel housed in a renovated townhouse in the heart of Park Slope, Brooklyn. We have several private rooms with private bathrooms; also, a 700 sq ft garden apartment with galley kitchen and backyard. All rooms have a lot of charm and new amenities; cable TV, wifi, a/c, small refrigerator and microwave. Located just steps from trendy 5th Ave. restaurants and cafes and just 6 blocks from the R or F trains. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Park Slope Hotel Brooklyn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing