We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great local bar”

Mullanes Bar & Grill
Ranked #851 of 5,362 Restaurants in Brooklyn
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Irish
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Norwalk, Connecticut, USA
Level Contributor
104 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“great local bar”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

i found this place while searching the neihborhood for a decent bar to watch sporting events, and it was great. it's not a sports bar but there is ample seating in the bar area, good pub food and appetizers and several TVs around the bar.

it turned out to also be a great family lunch or dinner place too. reasonably stroller friendly, some outdoor seating in the nice weather. they even put bowls of water out for the dog crowd in the hot weather.

we always found the service to be great. i believe new ownership took over 5 or 6 years ago and they were always very friendly and attentive - management stopped by the tables on many of our visits to see if all was well.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    15
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Sangria was Delightful”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

My date and I had a decent meal as usual and sat for a while sipping the red and white sangrias for both of us, delish. The customer service I really never have to complain the food so far so good.. so Thank you very much for a pleasant experience.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Black H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible Service, Nasty Owners”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I had the worst service of my life here. They never brought my burger, brought us the wrong salad, argued that we had ordered something we hadn't, brought the wrong dressing after fixing the salad, and were obnoxious about it when we complained. I will never go back.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ben A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Hills, New York
Level Contributor
494 reviews
448 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Spacious bar/restaurant with nice, aged atmosphere”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

This place is a large, nice looking tavern, with aged brick and rust painted walls. There are several televisions at the front of the restaurant near the bar, but they are not visible from the back area where I seated myself.

I ordered "Mini Chicken Taco Rolls" as an appetizer ($9) and shepherd's pie ($11 on the lunch menu). I washed it down with Bud Light draft ($4).

The taco rolls were great but I found them a bit expensive for what I got. The appetizers are on the expensive side as they were almost as expensive as - or, in some cases, more expensive than - the main courses.

The shepherd's pie was good but unlike any I've ever had before. Instead of minced meat mixed with veggies, it was like a beef stew under the potatoes. I usually eat shepherd's pie with a fork but needed a large spoon with this one, and I could have used a straw for much of it.

I'll be coming back for lunch but will probably skip the appetizer.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank JamieNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Mullane's has great food and great atmosphere. Very casual bar/grill atmosphere. Lots of TVs and a projector screen to watch games/matches that are on. Mini chicken taco appetizers are great. My husband enjoyed the shrimp bisque. Definitely stop in for a laid back dinner.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank YankeeFan10182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mullanes Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Mullanes Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing