We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“far from what it used to be :(” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mona Lisa Bakery - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Mona Lisa Bakery
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Restaurant details
NYC
Level Contributor
62 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“far from what it used to be :(”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

This place used to be the place to go for great desserts. The original owner up until about 7 years ago made the place famous. Rumor has it he won a lottery and really invested in this place. The decor is gorgeous with Renaissance-era painted ceiling, chandeliers and paintings on the walls. He also brought there the famous brick oven pizza and Italian desserts. Eventually the place was sold to a couple of guys who were brothers-in -law. They kept the same food but diluted the drinks even sodas. And the original waiters, who knew you like family, were gone. Service and atmosphere were not the same. We went there last Saturday. People used to wait outside to be seated but now the place is empty. New management again. Half of items on menu were not available.The waitress was obviously new and did not know the menu at all. Kept asking us to point out the items we want to order on menu. Food tasted very average, nothing special. Dessert looked the same but tasted horrible. Before we ordered pizza the brick oven was not even heated. We ended up waiting 40 min for pizza. It is such a shame to have this place go down like that. We will miss it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank alemargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    3
    0
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northville, New York
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Rude Encounter!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

My 93 year old mother had an awful experience placing a phone order for shipment. After giving her a difficult time gaining her information over the phone, the salesperson could not give her a price for what she purchased; and told her to call back the next day to place the order again when the person who handles shipping is in. Why didn't they tell her that in the first place, instead of giving her such a hard time? When I took the phone , they were very rude and argumentative! After being loyal patrons since they opened, we will not give them, or recommend any more business. It was very upsetting to be spoken to so rudely!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ciel_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Average eatery”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Not the best place but fairly good. The day we went there place was empty and they didn't have a lot of choices from the menu which was disappointing

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nu74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“OK place!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

Now the good thing with Mona Lisa is that there bakery has almost everything and it is reasonably priced and you get big pieces and depending on waht your order to eat you also get big protions! I always get a burger and it's pretty good and the pizza is also pretty good oven brick pizza but nothing great!! Their chicken fingers are just OK but their curly fries are great!The prices are fair but they dont give free refills on sodas which sucks!! Some of the waiters are stupid as hell and barely come bye when it's not busy so I can only imagine when it is busy! They need people with better customer service skills cause they suck when it comes to that! And the palce is super small!!! I only go from time to time since their food is ok and their bakery is good!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Amanda N Joshua L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very careless attitude.... don't even have working break slicer most of the time”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2011

Poor system for customer...... staff not always there ...... you have to wait around for them....then you have to wait around for someone to go to front where cash register is....... not a welcoming place..... pastries very ordinary and average.... you can give it a miss.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank josephfrancis77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mona Lisa Bakery also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing