We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, Great Service, Excellent Food and Prices”
Review of Song

Song
Ranked #325 of 5,364 Restaurants in Brooklyn
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
106 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Comfortable, Great Service, Excellent Food and Prices”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

From the outside you would never guess it was as big inside. The night we visited, they were very busy and we did have to wait for maybe 15 minutes. It certainly was worth the wait. My standard is usually Pad Thai as so many places fail at making this dish correctly, but Song came through with flying colors! And the portion size was definitely enough for two! Prices were fantastic and the service prompt and friendly. Everyone else were very happy with their meals with no complaints whatsoever. This place will be a definite next visit to NY...Actually planning to surprise my husband for his birthday!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carrie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    26
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
108 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
“WARNING – Their food is addictive”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Overly trendy, just know that going in. Fitting with that, there are no signs outside the restaurant and the interior feels cold / hard. They also love to play trendy music a bit too loud; you will have to say “what” a lot and shout a bit to have a conversation. You can imagine what’s it’s like to order take away over the phone, lot’s of “what’s” on both ends.

That said, their food it almost as good as what I ate in Southeast Asia and blows away any other Thai restaurant in NYC. I have tried several of their dishes, though always return to the Panang curry. It's better than any other I have had in New York. Their spring rolls are also delicious, crispy, light…and come in pairs (great to share) with a fantastic dipping sauce. Their Thai Iced Tea is fantastic in the summer, again similar to what I had in South East Asia, especially when sitting in the outdoor courtyard. They also have daily specials to switch things up a bit.

If you eat there you can watch them cook from your seat, you can actually feel the heat from the periodic bursts of flames if you sit close enough (which I think they do for effect). The customer service leaves something to be desired; if you can get past that and the trendiness, it’s well worth it. Every single person I have ever brought to this place has been hooked and abandoned their old Thai restaurant, do not visit unless you are okay with needing to eat here at least once per week. Given their popularity they now have two other restaurants (Joya and National), though Song is still my favorite.

They are reasonably priced given the quality of the food (and the trendiness), though bring cash as they do not accept credit cards.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank IchBesorgeDasBier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“FAVORITE Thai place”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I live in Brooklyn and we've tried other places, (Born, Klong, etc) but I always come back to Song. Not only is it a good bang for your buck the food really is that good! I always get the Massaman Curry with chicken - peanut sauce with coconut milk in a mild curry, a-mazing! Dishes are only like $8.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KristaF22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Thai Food in a nice ambience”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

This is a great neighbourhood restaurant. We sat outdoors, and the atmosphere was very chilled out and cool. The food was great. I am obsessed with Pad Thai and have had it in so many Thai Restaurants. This was among the top Pad Thai's I have ever had.
I would definately go back.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chefrud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Crowded just enough, great food, fabulous evening!”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

It was a hot night mid-August but the staff was right there and we ate really well. Outside seating looks most desirable, but we had a better view of the wonderful kitchen activities from inside, about the middle of the room. I highly recommend the green chile with chicken. Yum.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ABoregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Song also viewed

 
Brooklyn, NY
 

Been to Song? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing