We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you love Japanese food, this is the place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zenkichi

Zenkichi
Reserve with OpenTable
Zenkichi is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #125 of 5,292 Restaurants in Brooklyn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Between Berry Street and Wythe Avenue
Transit: 3 blocks from the L Train Bedford Avenue Station.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“If you love Japanese food, this is the place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

As my son lives in Williamsburg, we never visit without stopping into Zenkichi for a great meal! The atmosphere is interesting as it's very dark, maze like, and all the private booths have blinds! The service is excellent and the waiter will help you in your selections. The Sake Tasting menu is great and the food is excellent: Cold Fresh Tofu, Sashimi, Saikyo Miso Cod, Tamago Tofu Shrimp Ankake, Wasabi Octopus, and many more excellent selections! We're heading back in December and I'm sure Zenkichi will be one of our destinations.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    25
    9
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
“I forgot I was in New York”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

I had heard about Zenkichi from many friends and on my last visit two weeks ago I finally got a chance to experience this for myself. I have been to Tokyo before and was guided by a local, since returning from that trip I have been consistently disappointed by western interpretations of Japanese cuisine as well as the atmosphere offered. Zenkichi almost immediately upon entering transported me to my visit to Tokyo, without much pomp and circumstance (of coarse, this is not what this culture is known for) with the simple greetings of the manager at the door and the cordial escort to my private booth. The space is serene yet incredibly lively and warm, the service was impeccable and in true Japanese fashion the meal tells a story, every ingredient has a purpose and an order, every dish compliments it's predecessor and prepares the palette for the next. The Sake selection by my waiter matched the food perfectly... this was much more then just a meal, it was a journey.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CaptIndustry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
“Great if you know what to order”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

This place has amazing food! I personally don't think the ambiance is as good as what some people are describing. It's dark and hot and some of the tables especially the ones by the corners of the building are really tight. The service is okay but I think it has a strange and pretentious feeling to it. But I can't argue that they are serious about food! From the freshly-grinded wasabi to the variety of premium seaweeds they serve with the dishes, it is a rare found in the Brooklyn area. The wasabi octopus, seawood summonuno, spicy cod roe riceball and jewels of the day are all amazing. However some dishes are left to the desired. The poultry and tempura dishes are small, overpriced and too typical. The noodle and udon dishes are just horrible. The desserts are good but not amazing and they are small and overpriced. If you come here often you'll get bored because they don't update their menu often. But if you come here the first time and know what to order and what not to order, you're in for a amazing experience!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kiki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfect for date night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

This restaurant is very quirky! you would not think of going inside if you walked past but once youre in, it is very interesting. the layout is all dark and maze like so you can get lost but i love the blinds with each booth. very romantic! food was delicious!! cant go wrong! and its cheaper than places in NY city. A must if you are in the Willamsburg area!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MC1527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our go-to spot with romantic private seating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

I've visited here twice so far and will recommend it to friends. Zenkichi provides private seating area in a booth perfect for romantic dining for couples and groups. Price is a little on the higher end but the food & the experience is definitely worth a try. Planning another visit here this month for some Japanese beers & wasabi octopus.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Seung Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zenkichi also viewed

 

Been to Zenkichi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing