We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“decent but brooklyn”
Review of Taro Sushi NY

Taro Sushi NY
Ranked #3,055 of 5,362 Restaurants in Brooklyn
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
Restaurant details
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
103 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“decent but brooklyn”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Walked by here few days ago and was told by a friend that Taro Sushi is one of the best in Brooklyn giving its quality of fish. Ok! Let me give it a try! Came here on a Saturday afternoon for lunch and see what the rave is all about. The decor is decent, not sure if the owners are really Japanese or Chinese owned, could not figure it out. The menu was pretty extensive, they even had my favorite Monk Fish liver "ankimo", which only Japanese owned restuarant would carry this product "usually". The rolls was decent size and the sushi/sashimi were pretty stingy cuts. As far as the quality of fish, I would give it a above average as most Manhattan establishments would carry the same qualify, was not impressed. Overall, decent Japanese restuarant in a growing downtown BK neighborhood, glad we are finally getting good eatery around here. Food was above average and the service was average. I would only come back if I was around the neighborhood, but would rather drive additional 5 minutes to Manhattan.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    3
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
94 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“best sushi”
Reviewed October 25, 2011

i am a picky sushi eater, only eat sushi at a Japanese owned restaurant, the quality of fish that they buy is different than anywhere else. and surprisingly it is not as expensive as you would think it should be given the best quality fish they get.
for years i have been getting the sashimi deluxe, until i learned about omakase, the best fresh fish in the house prepared by the chef's choice, for $40 u get 12 piece of sushi. i think i went there 4 times in 2 weeks this month, after I learned about omakase.
but anything u order is a pleasant surprise when u put it in your mouth.
they moved from dean street and new location has a very nice atmosphere.
next time i should take a picture and put it here

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank linatoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Consistent quality, reasonable prices.”
Reviewed March 16, 2011

Don't know if it was more fun going to Taro when they were in their old space, a small, scruffy store front on Dean Street which took a little courage to go into, or their new space on Flatbush, which is as attractive and comfortable as a small restaurant can be, but the food has thankfully remained consistently delicious. They do an excellent job with the menu items you would expect to see in a Japanese restaurant and they won't break the bank when it comes time to pay the bill. One wish is for dishes out of the kitchen to become a little more creative but that's pretty common with most places where the focus is on serving raw fish. Wonderful local place, hope they're here forever.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MTRA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“I don't know why people...”
Reviewed May 19, 2009

I don't know why people rave about this place. It's not bad but it's not the best. For years all I've heard is that the fish is flown in from Japan as if this should make it a big deal. Who cares? It's tight and cramped in there. I guess if you think the place is small it's "exclusive" or "cool" but really, I wasn't that impressed after all the hype.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing hole in the wall”
Reviewed May 17, 2009

Incredible Sushi, comprehensive list of favorites and delicasies. It's that perfect type of sushi with melting butter fish on perfectly prepared rice. We loved the apps - especially the asparagus and the boiled pumpkin. We will be back. Underpriced for the quality. The waitstaff a little light on the English, and was not as helpful with food allergies, but everyone was kind and efficient. Otherwise would have given a 5 for service. Atmosphere is a simple restaurant, but it's perfect for what it is.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BrooklynDutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taro Sushi NY also viewed

 

Been to Taro Sushi NY? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing