We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful”
Review of Marlow & Sons

Marlow & Sons
Ranked #133 of 5,415 Restaurants in Brooklyn
Price range: $20 - $100
Cuisines: American, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Bedford, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Delightful”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Unpretentious with delicious food - a winning combo! Portions were not large - they were just right for tasting and sharing a little. Although one in our party loved his meal so much it was gone before we could taste it! We went for the brick chicken and were disappointed that it was not on the menu the night we were there. We had a few different oysters - cannot remember which ones, but they were all great. Our one non-oyster eater ordered the olives which were plentiful and served warm. In fact it was such a generous portion that we shared it with the table next to us! The food was local and seasonal - loved that fresh corn and peaches which are perfect right now were represented. Their duck, lamb and fish were all nicely done. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Granitestater87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    37
    11
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable Brooklyn restaurant”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Stumbled upon this while walking around Brooklyn in the summer heat. It was like a little oasis in the desert. Small tavern-style restaurant with a straight to the point menu which changes daily. The duck liver pate was awesome and oysters were super fresh. The brick chicken was so good, crisp skin and tender meat although it was a little uncooked in the middle. The staff gave us a pie on the house which we demolished in no time. I would return again and recommend this fantastic place to anyone.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JitterCritter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Fabulous breakfast in Williamsburg”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We had breakfast here three times during our recent stay in Williamsburg as it was within walking distance from the apartment where we were staying.

First of all, the staff at this place is genuinely friendly, which I always find a major plus. The place looks and feels very cool as well, without being too much of a hipster's spot.

I didn't care very much for their croissants (chocolate and almond), but all the rest of the food was just heaven: yoghurt with granola and fresh fruit, bread pudding, scones with rhubarb and vanilla, poached eggs.

It was also one of the few places were I managed to get a decent green tea.

We'll be back!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Walterke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslox2
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best local experience!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

In Williamsburg where everything is "local" and "organic", it doesn't necessarily mean it's good. But this restaurant proves worthy of every "yammmm" adjective I know. We had oysters to start, all super fresh and delicious, then the porgy and the duck breast. Amazing brussel sprots on the sides. Everything on the plate shines from great produce quality. And the home made buttermilk ice cream to finish of the perfect dinner was just to die for!
They don't take reservations, so calculate 30 minutes with an aperetif at the bar while you wait.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Oslox2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
272 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“A delightful experience”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We finally crossed over to Brooklyn to try this spot out. We had dinner here with 3 other friends. It's not a big restaurant and I would suggest you go early as it fills up quickly.
The food was well prepared, the oysters (for appetizers) we Delicious, and the main course was well presented and tasty.
I was expecting more of a beef/pork selection recognizing the butcher shop next door supplies the main ingredients for the menu. The menu's main course was a selection of three dishes (Chicken, fish, duck).
All in all it was a good experience.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Glen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marlow & Sons also viewed

 

Been to Marlow & Sons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing