We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dressler restaurant Brooklyn”
Review of Dressler - CLOSED

Dressler
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Bedford and Driggs
Transit: J-M-Z Subway to Marcy Avenue (1st stop in Brooklyn); L Subway to Bedford (1st stop in Brooklyn)
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Dressler restaurant Brooklyn”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

This restaurant is very chic with lots of atmosphere & terrific food, not cheap but high end food & excellent service. Worth a visit on a special occasion.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lynnbarry_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    27
    7
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great for brunch”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Had brunch and a few drinks at Dresslers. The place doesn’t look like much from the outside but once you are inside the pace really opens up and has a great atmosphere. A relax and professional service with good advice in terms of paring cocktails with the dishes (lovely cocktails btw). I had the prime sirloin & eggs, a decent portion and very tasty dish (very tender). In total the bill was a bit on the high side, but worth the money.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MichaelCop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
493 reviews
349 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Pricey, but Good Food; Order Appetizers”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

The best option here are the appetizers. The octopus and scallops were amazing. The mains are quite pricey, and I was disappointed by the specials. The swordfish was a bit overcooked, while the porterhouse for two was an astounding $115! Needless to say, we were not told the price. To compound this, they added a 20% tip, as we were a party of six.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gailyn63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Way too salty. Won't go back.”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Was really disappointed as my swordfish was way too salty, not really acceptable for a $35 plate. My friend's cod though was very good.

The noise is amazing: you cannot really have a conversation. And yes they only have the now standard cocktail glasses and cannot serve a martini in a martini glass (I had asked).

Service was quite attentive but the waiter did not know the price of the special (above mentioned cod). He said "something in the 20's" and it turned out to be $32.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Luc43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Not Bad”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I was here last night, food was good. Martini's served in very weird glasses. A bit strange for me, anyway it was recommended for a great romantic first date, my opinion is different. The place was extremely loud and we sat in between other people whose table was on top of ours, so the romantic part went out the window. If i were with a bunch of guys or my date was with a bunch of girls, that is what this place is good for or all couples. Decor is nice she was impressed with it but overall it was a few steps above a nice bar. Probally would not go back

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 20nout1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dressler also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing