We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing food, great atmosphere.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Fette Sau

Fette Sau
Ranked #13 of 5,322 Restaurants in Brooklyn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing food, great atmosphere.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

This was a great experience. I loved the communal eating feel about the place, It was very laid back and you even find yourself chatting to friendly locals at the table. The meat was amazing, so tender and the side dishes complimented the meats perfectly. Reasonably priced, and good beer too.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lidz_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    257
    183
    41
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm
Level Contributor
1,573 reviews
876 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 361 helpful votes
“Pls ope closer to were I live”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Get there early, enjoy good beer , a good selection of Malts, great BBQ and simply a cool Brooklyn Scene.Sharing is fun!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phayao13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome BBQ!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

We decided to check out Williamsburg to get away from the hoards of tourists in Manhattan. It's a great neighbourhood that's filled with interesting shops and unique restaurants. We had chosen Fette Sau after reading reviews and were most pleased with our choice. We had a bit of a hard time finding it, although we knew the address, as it was just before their 5pm opening and the sign was not turned on. Once inside, we were greeted by a warm and comfortable room that was quirky and fun. After ordering dinner from the counter, we took our food, which is served a a paper-covered baking sheet, to a spot on one of the communal tables. All of the food was beyond good: the beef brisket was flavourful and tender, the pork ribs fell off the bone, the burnt end baked bean were heaven and the best that I've ever eaten, and the German potato salad was awesome. The bar is well-stocked with bourbon, craft beer and wine. The beer taps are very neat and worth a look. The service was a pleasant surprise as I wasn't expecting much after reading negative reviews about it. All of the employees were polite and fast. I'd even go as far as saying that they were the sweetest hipsters in New York!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Macbru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Meat Meat and Beans..........with Meat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

This is a little gem, while it doesnt look like much outside inside its a heaving hotspot. As you enter you order meat all different types and it is based on weight and can be served with a side of beans ( a must) and pickle. The beer is served in glass jars and the place has a unpretencious vibe to it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lk80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smith Mountain Lake
Level Contributor
57 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Down Home BBQ Up North”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

I don't like standing in line to order food. I don't like squeezing onto a bench to share a long picnic type table with strangers. Had to do both at Fette Sau. Didn't mind. Enjoyed it, actually. All just part of a unique dining experience, where everything is done just a little differently. It's crowded, it's noisy and it's fun. I would not recommend eating here unless you are looking for good BBQ and a good time. My son and I had the spicy sausage, pork ribs, beef brisket and pulled pork, with homemade pickles and a delicious potato salad on the side. All good. This has to be as good as it gets "in these parts". To get better BBQ, you will have to drive south.....way south, y'all.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ticocharlieSML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fette Sau also viewed

 

Been to Fette Sau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing