We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Sleep in an Art Gallery” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Henry Norman Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Henry Norman Hotel
Ranked #2 of 68 Hotels in Brooklyn
Certificate of Excellence
Honolulu,HI
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Sleep in an Art Gallery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Great neighborhood area - fun boutiques and restaurants within 15 minute walk - no food at hotel; but the staff, rooms, wi-fi more than make up for that. Ask for a room not on Henry St. Perfect for single ladies.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back. Avoid rooms on Henry St.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hokua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    75
    15
    4
    3
See reviews for
182
137
37
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

Ok, so not quite the haunt as The Shinings room 237 in the Overlook hotel, our stay was very disturbing. We stayed in room 217 and the first thing we noticed were the bugs in the window ( in the room in the window). Our view overlooked a Trailways-like bus terminal of which the "beep, beep, beep" of backing up busses never stopped for 20 hours ( 6am to 2am the next morning). Avoid room 217. They should know not to use this room. The elevator was broken for our entire stay and our room was never-NEVER cleaned. Only a change of towels and they made the bed. The recommendation of Best Margarita for late night pizza was really off. Terrible pizza. The pluses were the hotel was nicely furnished. Very different. The staff was very polite and helpful. Great driving service and the terrace was a pleasant surprise.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank JustUs03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mae K, Manager at Henry Norman Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your comments and your patronage at the Henry Norman Hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed our unique design and furniture. We are equally pleased that you found our staff friendly and helpful. These are both key staples of our hotel that we take great pride upon.

I did want to take a moment to touch upon some of the less positive aspects of your stay. In regards to the cleaning, because you were only staying with us for 2 nights and the fact that we are a green hotel, we do a light cleaning, to both respect the environment and also the privacy of our guests. Had you requested any additional cleaning needs we would be more than happy to accommodate your needs.

We are also in the process of installing two brand new elevators. The elevator was not broken just not yet ready at the time of your stay. Had we known that the one flight of stairs was an issue we would have been more than happy to accommodate you in an equally beautiful room on the first floor.

I am also sorry that the noise from the street had a negative effect on your stay. Because we are located in an urban metropolis there can be activity and life that goes on at all times. While this sometimes can be a negative factor it is also what makes our city so vibrant and exciting. Again, I wish we had known that the noise was affecting you as we could have moved you to another room away from the street.

Once again thank you for your patronage and we hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the future.

Sincerely,

The Henry Norman Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We stayed with them from July 22-26th. We initially rented and AirBnb room for our duration but upon arriving found it deplorable. Our visit was to see my terminal ill brother in law. After we got out of the hospital at 8 something at night we started calling around. Kevin was the Very nice person to ensure us a room for 2 adults and 2 kids. We made it from Manhattan to Brooklyn to find the hotel. IT was Beyond beautiful during check in, I could tell right from the start it was beyond worth it. They carried our bags upstairs for us (which at first we said no- but they insisted) It was refreshing after our long 10 hour drive and few hours we spent in the hospital. We loved it so much my father in law booked one room that first night also. Our rooms were Beautifully designed. ( I was in heaven + Jealous ) It was so modern and sheek. The halls were large and beautiful hard wood floors with rod iron. Every single day there was a gentleman (who would hold the door) moping the stairwell. Out side they kept it very clean and the beautiful flowers. They had a wonderful car service of a vintage taxi or Brand new BMW SUV. (we used it once Martin took us to dinner a few blocks over) I can not express my love for that place and never planned on returning to Brooklyn but.. that hotel makes it all worth it!!!!!! I mean it! Beautiful, Clean, Modern, Nice Staff, did I say Clean? Also, at night when My husband and I would go outside or take a walk there was one friendly looking gentleman sitting on the bench near the entrance, he was there every night and always wearing black pants a white shirt and black jacket - he kept quiet on his Bluetooth phone but it made me feel so safe as if a 'bouncer' was outside watching at all times. Now the best of all was the bathroom. They have there own company they use for Shampoo, Conditioner, and Bodywash built into the shower. Now, we generally never use stuff like that but everything seemed so clean and lovely and the title said 'Jasmine and Clementine'after such rough emotional days I tried it.. AND FELL IN LOVE! My goodness that stuff was so refreshing to relax with. On check out I asked Ms. Sarah and she emailed me as promise how we could buy some back home which we have already done so... This place was a unplanned surprise that .. I couldn't have been more grateful for. The place was so Curious and Nice and Clean. We couldn't be more grateful for that wonderful place.

-- ( did not enjoy the bakery around the corner Syrena Bakery -- read review)

Room Tip: The second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lmpineiro1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Sometimes one gets lucky and finds a gem of a hotel - this is one of them. From the moment one enters, one recognizes this is something different - spectacularly so! Bog rooms, high ceilings, great furnishings, beautiful paintings, attentive staff. Need a place to have brunch? No problem. Staff is ready to offer a number of delicious places nearby. Need a way to get there? No problem - a driver is at the hotel ready to whisk you away in a brand spanking new BMW SUV. Where are you going to find this anywhere? And of course, at room rates often time half of what you will pay in Manhattan for a room half the size and quarter of the quality. Henry Norman hotel - thank you!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nativ101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

For a visit to my son in Williamsburg I choose the newly renovated Henry Norman Hotel. I was worried that the hotel would not be up and running for my visit but although they were still putting on the finishing touches the staff were friendly and very helpful. The hotel still smelling of fresh paint is very nicely decorated with colorful artwork, comfortable furnishings and upscale loft style rooms. The subway doesn't run all the way to Greenpoint but the hotel provides a scuttle service to areas close by. I found the price quite reasonable, and hope that continues when they have all their services up and running. I would gladly return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roslyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Beautiful rooms full of comfort. Service was great and the bed was very comfortable. The flat screen tv with cable was very nice and in a good spot across from the bed so you can lie down, relax, and watch television. The shower has free shampoo, body wash, and conditioner which was very convenient. The people at the front desk were extremely kind and caring. It was like being in your own home. Great experience overall.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Frankie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We were about to resign ourselves (sigh) to having to stay at the Fairfield Inn in Long Island City, when at the last minute our son (who recently moved to Brooklyn) discovered the Henry Norman Hotel in Williamsburg. Brand new, charming, delightfully decorated and the staff is over-the-top. They make you feel very welcome from the moment you walk in the door. Once they work out some of the kinks of being brand new, it'll be perfect. Highly recommend for a comfortable, very unique experience in Brooklyn.

Room Tip: The room facing the busier street was noisy in the morning. When we switched to an inside room is wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Debra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
0.9 mi away
The Box House Hotel
The Box House Hotel
#1 of 68 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 stars 775 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Le Jolie
Hotel Le Jolie
#4 of 68 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 stars 1,186 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Brooklyn/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Condor Hotel
The Condor Hotel
#6 of 68 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 stars 930 reviews
3.6 mi away
NU Hotel
NU Hotel
#7 of 68 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 stars 804 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Brooklyn - A Hotel
The Brooklyn - A Hotel
#8 of 68 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 stars 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Henry Norman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Henry Norman Hotel

Property: Henry Norman Hotel
Address: 239 N Henry St, Brooklyn, NY 11222-3607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 68 Hotels in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Henry Norman Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Born from the name of the two streets at the intersection in which it is located, the corner of North Henry Street and Norman Avenue, this former 19th century warehouse has been converted into a 52-room boutique hotel.The Henry Norman Hotel has been conceived and developed by the owners, management, and art director of the renowned The Box House Hotel, est. 2012. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Henry Norman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing