We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A sleek boutique hotel with comfortable rooms and friendly, helpful staff”
Review of Hotel Le Bleu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Le Bleu
Ranked #19 of 74 Hotels in Brooklyn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2009

I looked for a hotel in the neighborhood where my niece lives so that we could easily meet up. Brooklyn doesn't have that many hotels and I'm not a B&B type person so Hotel Le Bleu turned out to be the right hotel for me. It has large comfortable beds with goose down comforters, a large screen plasma TV, WiFi, a safe, and lots of other amenities. A breakfast bar is included in the room rate and there is a nice welcoming basket of cookies, water, and chips. Just one block over on 5th Avenue are tons of restaurants and shops and the hotel itself has a restaurant and bar. I was particularly impressed by the friendliness and helpfulness of the young staff. Definitely will stay here on my subsequent trips to New York..

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annamarcella9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,085)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

983 - 989 of 1,085 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2009

Hotel Le Bleu is a contemporary boutique inn with an attentive staff. I rarely left or entered the building without being greeted by name.

At first glance the location doesn’t look inviting. The hotel is on a major street next to a taxi dispatch, a U-Haul center, and Staples. But just a block east to 5th Ave. and you will find many interesting shops and restaurants. A subway station is 3 blocks SE.

The room was nicely appointed with a well lighted desk and room for my laptop (wireless or wired Internet is included). The night stands had variable lighting lamps. An array of entertainment options included a hi-def flat screen TV connected to DirecTV and a Bose sound system for DVDs and CDs. The desk has a clock radio with an iPod dock.

Bathroom privacy may be a minor downside for some. The facilities are part of the bedroom rather than a separate space. A clear glass box encloses the shower, so you are visible to anyone in the room. The commode has a little privacy with a frosted sliding glass door.

A rooftop club is open on weekends. I could clearly hear music from several blocks away as I approached the hotel. Once in my room, however, I couldn’t hear any music or party noise.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jonarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2009

Last minute, we needed to change date but due to prebooking at a discounted price we thought we would be penalized. They totally accomodated us without a charge.
I can't speak for others, but this was our second time here and the rooms were really clean.
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwigirl_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2009

First, this hotel labels itself as a 4 star property. Check with AAA - it is not a 4 star hotel; you will realize this as soon as you pull up to the stump of a building seated DIRECTLY next to a huge NYC taxi depot and in front of a sprawling U-Haul center. It is located on 4th Avenue in Brooklyn, an area not at all gentrified or even safe. Further, a 4 star hotel has 24 hour room service. Considering the low quality and absurd prices of the food the fact that they do not have 24 hour room service is a good thing. Also, there was a small dirty refrigerator in my room but apparently this "4 star hotel" missed the in room mini bar requirement.

Pros- decent website that conned me into thinking I was staying at a nice hotel.
Cons- Moldy shower, burns on the furniture, completely untrained staff, awful towels (scratchy and thin), no mini bar, no concierge, a lounge with no one ever there, a guest directory that appeared to be borrowed from another hotel (mine had take out food menus in it! - ridiculous price for my room.

Stay in Manhattan for the same price or less!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 4056RC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
timanctil, General Manager at Hotel Le Bleu, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2009

Thank you for taking the time to outline your experience and opinion of Hotel le Bleu. Although harsh criticism is difficult to hear, we use it as a training tool and a source to identify areas where improvement is necessary.

While we are not officially a 4-star property, I would point out that no where on our website to we promote ourselves as being 4-star. If you noticed, on tripadvisor.com, we are listed as a 3-star property, but with 4-star amenities such as 400 thread count sheets, goose-down pillows and duvets, 200+ channels if Direct Tv, complimentary wireless, complimentary in-room movies, complimentary continental breakfast and complimentary parking. Front desk is available 24 hours, bellman on duty 24 hours, reservations in on duty 24 hours. I'm sorry you felt we were so understaffed.

I'm not sure how you missed the mini-bar selections. Although they are basic choices (sodas (3 types), juices (2 types), 2 flavors Vitamin Waters, 4 types of Snacks and 2 bottles of Smart Water) we will be adding Brooklyn Beer, Chardonnay, Absolut Vodka and a chilled coffee drink by December 1.

One thing you mentioned definitely deserves an apology. When you stayed with us, we had completed regrouting 47 out of the 48 rooms in the hotel. Your room (#402) had not been completed. I apologize for the substandard appearance of the shower tile. As of now, the entire hotel has been regrouted and is in perfect condition.

Though we may not be the ideal hotel for everyone, we pride ourselves on our excellent customer service and clean, luxurious guest rooms and amenities. If you would like to discuss any of these issues, I can be reached during business hours at the hotel.

Warmest Regards. Tim Anctil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2009

I chose Hotel Le Bleu given it's proximity to friends I was visiting in the Park Slope area. I would do so again happily given the combination of its location vis-a-vis my friends and the hotel itself. It's new, the rooms well appointed and compact without being cramped. I would not, though, choose Hotel Le Bleu as a destination hotel. That section of 4th Avenue is not an attractive part of Park Slope. Nearby neighborhoods are nice, but the hotel loses a lot of points given its access off of 4th (made worse by having to nagivate through the parking lot to get to the hotel's entrance). Still, the staff were great, and it was very good value for the money.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HorseTrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2009

Hotel Le Bleu exceeded our expectations in every way. The location is perfect for visiting in Brooklyn or Manhattan, with easy mass transit access to many locations. The rooms are beautifully designed to make optimum use of every square inch of space so one never feels crowded. Our room was attractive, and the furniture arrangement made it easy to move around. The bed was especially comfortable, and we enjoyed the balcony looking out on Manhattan. Amenities in the room are exceptional, with wide screen digital TV and a complete Bose audio system. Perhaps the best thing about Le Bleu is the service. All staff members with whom we came into contact went out of their way to accommodate our needs and preferences.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom-and-Andi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2009

I have stayed at Hotel Le Bleu four times. Each time, something has struck me as awesome about my stay – and I have significant business & leisure hotel experience. This is a gem in the real world – not some fairytale Manhattan or Chicago experience. From an online or telephone reservation, change request or cancelation, the front desk handles it all with character, diplomacy and results. The comfort, the cleanliness, the service, the kindness (yeah, the kindness), and the value in this hotel is unbelievable in this-day-in-age. I hate to admit this because reservations may be hard to come by once people discover Hotel Le Bleu. From parking, check-in, special requests, directions, car service, respectable dining on-site if you choose not to go out to the amazing restaurants in the area – they have it all covered – not to mention the views from the roof. The hotel may not look like much from the outside – but once inside – I always feel special – from the chef holding my dinner reservation when I admitted to “someone” in the elevator that I was running late, the front desk making my room available earlier than check-in (and it was spotless), to walking my daughter up to my room at 5:30 A.M. after flying in from the west coast, to calling me with a guaranteed reservation after I was wait-listed. My compliments to the owners and staff, thank you.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmh1113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo
Hotel Indigo
#28 of 74 in Brooklyn
623 reviews
1 mi away
EVEN Hotel Brooklyn
EVEN Hotel Brooklyn
#8 of 74 in Brooklyn
380 reviews
1.1 mi away
NU Hotel
NU Hotel
#14 of 74 in Brooklyn
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Aloft New York Brooklyn
Aloft New York Brooklyn
#21 of 74 in Brooklyn
1,072 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Le Jolie
Hotel Le Jolie
#4 of 74 in Brooklyn
1,524 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Bleu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Bleu

Address: 370 4th Ave, Brooklyn, NY 11215-2718
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Brooklyn
#11 Romantic Hotel in Brooklyn
Price Range: $151 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Bleu 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's a quiet synergy that exists between Brooklyn and Hotel Le Bleu. Brooklyn is unique and vibrant, a place where individual style is praised and where fitting in means being different. Hotel Le Bleu mirrors the Brooklyn mindset and echoes its sense of originality and authenticity. From inside out, nothing about Hotel Le Bleu is ordinary or standard. Striking and powerful with its own distinct New York flavor, Hotel Le Bleu is the premiere hotel in the Brooklyn borough. Welcome to Brooklyn. Welcome to Hotel Le Bleu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Le Bleu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Bleu Hotel
Le Bleu Brooklyn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing