We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love is Blue... with spoiler alert.”
Review of Hotel Le Bleu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Le Bleu
Ranked #17 of 73 Hotels in Brooklyn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Having read the many reviews for Hotel Le Blue, I made my reservations with a modicum of uncertainty. I wanted to trust the well-designed website, and those who had enjoyed their stay. I kept my expectations low which always helps. As we arrived, I was happy that the promise of free parking (first come-first served) came true. Spaces are limited, although we were told that there was a garage across the street for $20.00 if need be. The building, (and the neighborhood) are not much to look at; but there's a small glass-enclosed lobby where we were met by a welcoming staff member. With everything in order, we were provided with a key that would be needed to access the elevator (a nice measure of security.) The elevator is cast in a cool blue light -- which turned out to be a harbinger of cool things to come. I don't dazzle easily, but upon entering the room I was, dare I say it -- tickled...blue. The first thing you encounter is the white lacquered furniture, white lucite doors and and fully enclosed glass shower, complete with billowing white curtains giving it an instant bridal-suite meets BattleStar Gallatica feeling. Mind you, the shower appears to stand in the middle of the room; there's a separate small room with the commode; a modern basin style sink is also exposed to the room. Granted, with this style of "facilities" you'd want to be EXTREMELY good friends with your room companion. The king size bed looked as inviting as it turned out to be. And an inset wall light running the length of the headboard also cast the room in a blue haze. Everything was spotless. Returning to the bed -- the main feature of any hotel room: it had a 2 - 3" mattress topper which was definitely akin to laying on a cloud. The linens were crisp and soft at the same time; the pillows quite downey. A pail with two bottles of water and a bag of Pirates Booty was a nice complimentary touch. There was also a basket of treats -- nuts, M & M, Twizzlers available and the price, which at most hotels is ridiculous, here was at $3.00 a snack. (Cheaper than the local movie theater!) There's a mini bar with juices, soda and beer, and a two-cup coffee maker with Starbucks packets. Our room had the terrace and Manhattan view. The terrace was tiny, and the view less than spectacular, but it was a nice place to step out on to as compared to some hotels where you can't even open a window. The drapes were heavy, which kept the room very dark -- not traffic or City or morning lights. The TV was quite impressive since 40 inches and a wall mount still impresses me and Direct TV to boot. We had trouble getting the TV to go on -- and the front desk had someone to our room within 5 minutes to help us figure it out. We were also pleased to find out that the restaurant and bar on the top floors was open for business -- the website said it was closed. Had we known, we might have stayed in for dinner. Our visit up to the lounge for a night cap revealed a wonderful bar, and a really pretty dining room. The friendly bartendress informed us that during the summer months there's even an outdoor terrace to be enjoyed. I was reluctant to write such a detailed review as I didn't want to take away the element of surprise and delight you would have otherwise experienced, and its my hope that I haven't raised your expectations to any level that might result in disappointment, but if things stay as they are, I'm confident you will also be pleasantly surprised. After all, the same hotel room in Manhattan would cost $700. I'd venture that, with mass transit just a few blocks away, it wouldn't be unheard of to stay HERE and commute into the City for a New York weekend. You might even find that the restaurants of Park Slope (read review of Rosewater), the shops of Brooklyn Heights, and the nearby Barclay Center make staying at Hotel Le Bleu the best blue-plate special on your travel menu.

Room Tip: Go for the upper floor, Manhattan view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Imtraveling4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,071)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

684 - 690 of 1,071 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights because it was close to a venue we were attending. The staff were friendly and helpful, we slept well, and it was, for us, centrally located.

The glass bathroom was a touch awkward because of privacy issues with the toilet but if one person was in the shower that mitigated that issue. The furniture is showing its age, the TV didn't work and the corridor noise was noticeable but that is common in most hotels. We only noticed the noise during the day when housekeeping was working.

This is a perfectly acceptable hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoeSanDiegoCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

I just had the pleasure of speaking with Audrey, a very professional Hotel Le Bleu front desk administrator. At 2:53 a.m. after just completing the second part of a business reservation, tired myself, I called briefly to ask about a subway location closest to the destination, (possible) early check-in and a quick question about room logistics/no-smoking request. I was pleased to find out that the hotel is an entirely smoke-free establishment!

Audrey was extremely patient, taking the time to explain early check-in policies, confirming that the establishment was indeed as beautiful as the photos I saw online and advising that I should get ready to rest up since the queen sized beds were VERY comfortable. I will need this when I arrive after a full day of meetings and more tomorrow!

Audrey - if you're reading this, thank you for your pleasantry and genuine customer interest. I look forward to meeting you tomorrow afternoon - to enjoying my stay at the Hotel Le Bleu!

Cheers -

KLaingRey on business

Room Tip: I would leave this up to the friendly staff..ask them for their suggestions based on what you are lo...
See more room tips
Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
3  Thank KLaingRey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

The stay here was simply amazing! The staff was friendly and helpful. The amenities was top notch. One of the key things i liked the best was the provision of cab services.Definitely staying there next time I'm in New York

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tlawson2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Hotel Le Bleu was a great find for a recent apartment-hunting trip to Brooklyn. The price is well below what you would expect in the Brooklyn area. The room was a decent size (considering NY) and very clean with "like new" contemporary furnishings. The staff was exceptionally helpful in answering any questions or calling transportation when needed. We appreciated the complimentary basket of goodies for breakfast each morning. The subway is only a few blocks away and good restaurants within walking distance or a $5-$7 cab ride. The hotel's immediate neighborhood and curb appeal are just so-so, but you will be surprised when you enter your hotel room or travel just a mile or so to visit the trendier part of town for boutique shopping and eating. We stayed three nights and would definitely recommend this hotel for your next visit to this end of town.

Room Tip: Recommend a higher floor. We heard an all-night special event (until 6 a.m. of loud talking and lau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Hotel was clean, staff were professional, beds comfy and perfect pillows ! This is a great "boutique" hotel. We ate at the rooftop restaurant several nights and we would highly recommend it. The short ribs were to die for! We will be staying there anytime we go to Brooklyn.

Room Tip: Ask for room with manhattan view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

I spent three nights at Hotel Le Bleu last week. Such a good experience from the start. Parking just outside the door, friendly and efficient front desk. Because it isn't a huge hotel, there's no long gloomy walk to the room from the elevators. The room is very well-designed and convenient. I liked the blue light in the headboard, also liked that it's possible to turn it off and use regular lamplight. The bathroom design, with the glassed-in shower right in the room is a little unusual but it was just fine for one person. Can't imagine sharing a room with someone with a colleague, but aside from that, it's conceptually very interesting. Big, flat-screen TV in room and an awesome Bose sound system! Complimentary breakfast is brought to the door in a white box with bright blue tissue paper lining. The bagel was fresh, freshly toasted, still warm! The yogurt was good quality, name brand. The staff member who delivered it was gracious and non-intrusive.// I inadvertently left my iPad behind!!!! Front desk called me within a half-hour of my departure (on a Sunday morning, no less!) to say housekeeping had found it! It was Fedexed back to me promptly and I was extremely grateful. I will stay at Hotel Le Bleu again . . . and again . . . and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Room in the front overlooks the parking lot and is on a busy street but I didn't hear any street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jmay1547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
1.1 mi away
NU Hotel
NU Hotel
#13 of 73 in Brooklyn
940 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo
Hotel Indigo
#28 of 73 in Brooklyn
611 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Brooklyn
The Brooklyn
#11 of 73 in Brooklyn
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Aloft New York Brooklyn
Aloft New York Brooklyn
#21 of 73 in Brooklyn
1,051 reviews
1.0 mi away
EVEN Hotel Brooklyn
EVEN Hotel Brooklyn
#8 of 73 in Brooklyn
335 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Box House Hotel
The Box House Hotel
#3 of 73 in Brooklyn
1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Bleu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Bleu

Address: 370 4th Ave, Brooklyn, NY 11215-2718
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Brooklyn
#8 Family Hotel in Brooklyn
#11 Romantic Hotel in Brooklyn
Price Range: $160 - $342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Bleu 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's a quiet synergy that exists between Brooklyn and Hotel Le Bleu. Brooklyn is unique and vibrant, a place where individual style is praised and where fitting in means being different. Hotel Le Bleu mirrors the Brooklyn mindset and echoes its sense of originality and authenticity. From inside out, nothing about Hotel Le Bleu is ordinary or standard. Striking and powerful with its own distinct New York flavor, Hotel Le Bleu is the premiere hotel in the Brooklyn borough. Welcome to Brooklyn. Welcome to Hotel Le Bleu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Le Bleu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Bleu Hotel
Le Bleu Brooklyn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing