We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Forget the fork I wanted to eat my dish with my hands.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Good Fork

The Good Fork
Ranked #169 of 5,292 Restaurants in Brooklyn
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
87 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Forget the fork I wanted to eat my dish with my hands.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

From the moment I walked in I knew it was going to be a great experience. First of all the place was packed full of people; a very good sign. My friends and I were seated right a way and the service was attentive. I loved the coziness of the place and the welcoming atmosphere. They had my favorite Korean dish on the menu, Bi Bim Bop. It was like I was back in Seoul again.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rombutan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    27
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
228 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Our Favorite Restaurant in Brooklyn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2011

This is a real winner. Though off the beaten path (you definitely need to drive or take a taxi), it is so worth the trip. The food is wonderful farm-to-table, but incredibly inventive. Also, the service is great, especially the attention paid by the host Ben. Go go go!

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank robotmuppet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, n.y
Level Contributor
59 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent Cuisine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2011

We chose The Good Fork because of its good reputation for food as well as reasonable prices. It was a little out of the way for us in Red Hook but we wanted to try something new.
The owner was very friendly from giving us directions to helping us order. They did say everything was good and it was but I went with the duck confit which was the the most delicious I've ever tried. It was served medium rare with French lentils and scallions. The sauce was tasty but subtle. My husband and I split a beet salad the was good but perhaps a little too cold.
My husband as a vegetarian loved the ravioli served with hot and baked with a creamy looking cheese sauce on top. I thought the deserts were good but not up to the rest of the meal. I has a chocolate bread pudding which was a little too dense and sweet. My husbands apple pie looked impressive but tasted just good not as great as it looked.
We loved the ambiance; a combination of homey, pretty and unique. We felt like we were eating in another part of the country. The service was very good as well. All in all we loved it.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank myrabetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
109 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“This American Bistro with Korean influences is well worth the trip to Red Hook”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2011

Red Hook is an interesting section of Brooklyn.Home to Ikea and Fairway.If you are in Manhattan ,the most enjoyable way to get there is the Ikea ferry from Wall Street. Once you are there The Good Fork is a few short blocks away on Van Brundt the main drag. The decor is interesting, it's like being in the bowels of a wooden sailing ship.The food is excellent, Korean influenced American Bistro. Reasonably priced with attentive service

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Offbway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
306 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Charming below the radar restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2011

You'll need a car to get to the Good Fork but it's worth the trip. It's one of those charming, off the beaten path places that adventurous diners and travelers love to find. It's romantic and quirkly at the same time. Best of all is the great food and service. This is a chef-owned restaurant and the attention put into the food really slows. I've always had a great meal and great service here. Highly recommend !

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bookistan5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Good Fork also viewed

 

Been to The Good Fork? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing