We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of Applewood - CLOSED

Applewood
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
bronx, ny
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed May 3, 2012

I have seen mixed reviews on TA, from great to bad, but thought I would check it out myself. The ambiance is fine, but the staff makes the place seem hectic, perhaps it is the cramped space. It made me feel as if they are working to maximize their seating at the expense of my comfort. The menu is simple enough, but the execution was so-so, I got the lamb and was disappointed, my wife's pike was also mediocre. The combination of a cramped and hectic dining experience for mediocre food, served by poorly trained and obnoxious help makes this place unpalatable. Plus, as someone else mentioned they don't take Amex, which to me is a leading indicator of a place more interested in serving themselves instead of their customers.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
15 Thank john a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    17
    10
    2
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“like eating under a flowering apple tree”
Reviewed April 10, 2012

They threw open the double doors for us, and without embarrassment to our party, seated us at a wheelchair friendly table. Hake soft, with a slight butter seared crust, and tender braised ribs made our pre Easter spring meal feel exotic yet familiar. perfect service, learned of opening of farm in Chatham N .Y. to supply terrior, and that owners are moving up when kids finish school. Seemed like a NYC/Brooklyn haunt, sophisticated but ghostly familiar

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank fun-notfinnicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Simply lousy”
Reviewed March 21, 2012

A simple dinner gone missing. Service was terrible, food mediocre, nd the kitchen lost my dinner. Wife's dinner was so-so.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
19 Thank ax z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, ny
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“More hype than substance”
Reviewed February 13, 2012

This place seemed to be conjured by advertisers glomming onto "local" and "organic." In the end it lacked any talent or creative force. Menu was fair, and the dishes mediocore. The service was unprofessional and it was difficult to tell the bus service from the wait service.

Don't be a Park Slope Dope like me, and find another spot.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
22 Thank DianeShasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannes, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Not so good in the hood”
Reviewed February 6, 2012

The decor is the least of its downfalls. The only authentic thing about the place were the vacant thoughtless eyes of the wait staff. The food, while not over priced, is of little value after you discount for service, location and atmosphere.

Better off going hungry then wasting time and money in this pit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
23 Thank ax09001h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing