We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“10 nights and our stay was wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Comfort Inn Brooklyn City Center
Ranked #50 of 72 Hotels in Brooklyn
Bridgetown, Barbados
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“10 nights and our stay was wonderful”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

beautiful clean hotel, friendly staff, lots of places to choose from to eat, love the transportation, my family and i just love motel 6· we stayed there in april 2012 for 7 days and then in December for 10 days, both experiences were great and every time we travel to new york we are going to stay there·

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nicole g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    14
    20
    10
    17
See reviews for
20
22
11
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

The place is in good and clean condition, but the area is probably the worst in New York. The traffic honks all night long. And I was afraid to get back to the hotel when dark, It's a big sacrifice of the area for the cheaper price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adrianstevan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Having read revies I was a little concerned however it was for one night only and we would only be there for a few hours as was at a nearby function and had an early flight the next morning. On arrival looking at the outside of the building it looked quite new and much better than I anticipated, the reception though was not exactly the most welcoming reception in the world actually I have never ever stayed in a hotel where the reception people grettng you use a microphone to speak to you as behind bullet proof glass ! lukcily the rest of the lobby was nice and we actually laughed as strangle enough it didnt put us totally off as the street was OK, very busy, lobby nice and friendly staff so OK its Brooklyn bullet proof glass it is. Although no other hotel in Brooklyn I have stayed in has ever had this. Bed very comfortable have to say.
Just make sure you request a room away from the lift as ours was next door to it and boy was it noise and this hotel is used by people going out at night so there is a lot of action all through the night so rather noisy. Luckily for is being up at 4am to leave for the airport meant we didnt have to suffer throughout the evening.

Car park is so small, narrow, cannot turn a car around so have to reverse all the way out and for some reason people cannot park, if they could you would have got more cars in.

All in all for the price is was fine and actually better than I had expected. Wouldnt make it a base for a holiday at all but for 1 night pre flight departure or on arrival it was OK.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room away from the lift as it is way too noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travel_happy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Being from brooklyn and returning for a visit after 15 years, it wasn't bad. The bus was right outside as soon as you walk out the front door. Places to eat and shop was in walking distance. Mike's Diner on the other corner was a great place to eat. I thought that the room would've came with a microwave but, it didn't. They didn't serve breakfast which was a shock with the daily rate i paid. They had a bussines center to check emails. The room was nice could be a little up dated flat screens in the lobby, but not in the rooms.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank marilynshep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

This motel is in the heart of Brooklyn. The fully enclosed and secured front desk was the first sign that this place going to be interesting. The common areas seemed dingy and a little out dated.

The clerk was barley audible behind his security glass even with the speaker. I had asked about parking since there was only about 15 spots for the hole hotel with VERY LITTLE room to maneuver around in the back lot, it took us 5 minutes to back up into the spot since it's so tight and small.

When I asked if there was a AAA rate available the clerk stated that I already had a discounted rate which was almost $139 plus taxes bumping it up to almost $160. When i looked at the notice posted on the wall afterward the rate card stated the rates were exactly what I paid so I doubt that I had a discounted rate.

The room seemed to be cleaned OK, the toilet paper roll holder was about ready to fall off the wall and the toilet seat was ready to come off with one wrong move. There was a sign on the door that stated "for your protection, while in room engage the security deadbolt" BUT that deadbolt lock did not move when I tried to turn it. At least it had a chain. There was a safe like most hotels have but this one was not secured to anything... It was just sitting on the floor and could be moved and picked up easily, but it was better than nothing.

Overall I think it was a bit expensive for the area, type of motel and internal quality and would not recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Stay away from the elevators when getting rooms, don't be afraid to ask for what you want!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank iamjay1029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brooklyn hotels

Spain
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Danny exemplifies what a manager should do, he understands his customers needs and takes action. A great stay with a clean room in a good location.

For the people complaining...if you pay $600 for a room you expect a certain level of comfort, service and care. If you pay $100 for a hotel in the center of Brooklyn you have to understand what you get. I know what everyone wants, a $100 room in the center of Manhattan at the Four Seasons. This is a damn good deal for the price you pay and some great service as well.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicochico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2012

It would be really easy to be very critical of this motel. It is well off the beaten trail and deep within a black neighbourhood and on first impressions is a hotel that you would take one look at and then turn trail and run; I almost did! However this is a basic community MOTEL!

This isn't a tourist motel or location. Therefore if you come with those expectations you are going to be very disappointed. However if you have friends or family in Brooklyn then you will already be acclimatised to the community and therefore feel able to use this motel as the extra bedroom in your friends house it is.

The common parts are shabby with the high security reception being a low point. The tea and coffee area is poor and uninviting. The rooms are clean and meet the standard of the average 2 star travelodge, although someone was smoking in my room before I got it so out with the Febreze, provided care of the handy mini mark across the road.

There is a nice dinner also opposite the motel which has good food and company. The Dunkin' Donuts is on the other corner and seem popular.

Brooklyn is a transport blackhole if you aren't driving. That said the 46 bus stops outside and has a frequent service. We walk to the subway which is about 20 mins from the motel. It is about 40 mins on the subway to manhattan downtown.

I stay here as part of a family group with a number of rooms. Judging this over the 6 rooms we had it was fine. We have releatives in the immediate area so after an initial rush of 5 star panic, it turned out ok. Given the choice between here and bunking down in someone spare room or pull out sofa, here wins hands down. Basic needs met but not my first choice for my tourist visit.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KMgibbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
5.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Brooklyn
Comfort Inn Brooklyn
#42 of 72 in Brooklyn
61 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Brooklyn East
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Arena Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Midwood Suites
Midwood Suites
#57 of 72 in Brooklyn
77 reviews
5.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Brooklyn Bay Hotel
3.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Brooklyn Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Brooklyn City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Brooklyn City Center

Property: Comfort Inn Brooklyn City Center
Address: 599 Utica Ave, Brooklyn, NY 11203-1916 (Formerly Motel 6 Brooklyn)
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 72 Hotels in Brooklyn
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Brooklyn City Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Comfort Inn Brooklyn City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Hotel Brooklyn
Howard Johnson Brooklyn
Howard Johnson Hotel Brooklyn
Brooklyn Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing