We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a home far away from home”
Review of The Loralei B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Loralei B&B
Ranked #2 of 57 Brooklyn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 19, 2012

My daughter and I went to New York for a short holiday. Our stay in the Loralei was perfect. Robert is an excellent host and made us feel very welcome. Though located in Brooklyn the Loralei is close to Manhattan: the nearby subway-station Newkirk Plaza is just a 4 min walk away on safe streets, even at night. The B and Q trains take you directly to Manhattan.
Next time I'll book the Loralei again. Top value for money!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcel Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (197)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 197 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2012

Loralei Bed and Breakfast was our home for four nights in early October, while visiting our daughter and son-in-law in Brooklyn. Robert is the consummate host in his beautifully appointed period home (circa 1904), which, for me, was a trip back in time to my younger years spent on a tree-lined street with homes from the same era. Our rooms and bathroom were clean to a high standard. Breakfast (which can only be described as a continental style on steroids) was a joy, meeting and sharing stories with other couples. The variety of fare was superb (fresh fruits, pastries and breads, coffee, tea, juice, yogurt, hot and cold cereals, and cheeses) and plentiful. The proximity to subway and local restaurants left us with the feeling of living in a small, closely-knit community. Our getaway day called for an early rise before breakfast, so Robert prepared a to-go bag with fruit and pastries. He arranged for a private car to the airport at a rate much less than cabs. All in all, our stay was relaxing and a joy. It will be our home base in Brooklyn any time our room is available.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank George J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed here at the end of September 2012.

What we liked: Robert is as genial a host that we have ever encountered; a very likeable man who presents his home to the highest standards. His attention to detail and his presonality resonate throughout and make for a very enjoyable stay. The room (the suite at the front) is spacious, clean and well maintained. No question was too trivial and no matter had gone without thought.

The house is located in an eclectic part of Brooklyn which, at times gives the impression of being run down and negletcted. But this is a safe neughbourhood where we could walk the streets after dark and feel safe. This is staying in New York.

What we did not like:

Breakfast: Whilst it was presented to the highhest standard, it lacked imaginiation and variety. Europeans don't really go for chocolate cake and cheese (as described in previous entries) What this needed was some variety and a change of menu or even some cooked food. It would also be good to see that the breakfast items were sourced locally and had been given some thought or better still were homemade. and that we were helping to support the wider community as well as cutting the carbon footprint.


Recommendation: Without doubt, we would stay here again, and it is only the lack of attention to detail on the breakfast that prevents the full five stars being awarded.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank francis s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

I stayed at Loralei's for three nights at the end of August 2012 and I would definitely consider staying there again. Robert is the best and nicest host who will provide you with a map and detailed instructions on how to get to anywhere you want to go in New York, while also providing great suggestions. I loved being able to return to a peaceful and cosy room after spending an exhausting day sight-seeing in busy Manhattan. I loved the Gramercy Suite with its spacious bathroom and incredibly comfortable bed. Although situated in Brooklyn, Manhattan and all the other boroughs are very easily accessible by the subway. This was definitely a better choice in value over staying in downtown Manhattan. Thank you Robert!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EugeniaLui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I recently stayed 14 nights at Loralei in the front upstairs suite. It's a lovely suite with beautiful views of the leafy street. We really appreciated the space, given our long stay. The en suite bathroom was enormous and the room had a flatscreen TV and air-con. The house is beautifully restored and tastefully furnished.
Robert was a fantastic host who was very welcoming and we appreciated his fantastic sightseeing tips, particularly of local restaurants which we relished after long days out and about in Manhattan.
The suburb is a really interesting mix of cultures, it has great local restaurants and a wide range of services required by travelers (laundry services/laundromat, pharmacy, convenience stores, take away food). Most importantly, it is about a 3 min walk to Newkirk Plaza subway station with an express (B) and local (Q) train which is approx 20 - 25 mins to Manhattan. This was a super convenient & easy way to get around New York and the other boroughs during the day and at night. It is quite a busy area, so we felt safe at all times, even traveling back on the subway in the early hours of the morning.
I would highly recommend Loralei, given it's location, it's very comfortable accommodation in a beautiful historic home and the outstanding service provided by Robert.
Anna & Nick (Melbourne, Australia)

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amdavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

A special thank-you for a magnificent stay--our soft landing after a stressful life event. A gem of a B&B. The Loralei is a graceful blend of authentic concern and attention to detail for guests and serene independence. One has the space and quiet to think, rest, make interesting plans, lovely quick walk to transpo, interesting authentic neighborhood with amazing trees...

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZigiL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

The Loralei B&B is a gem. Nice people. Nice atmosphere. Nice and quiet. Just plain nice. You can not go wrong by staying here.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeffghost2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
1.8 mi away
Lefferts Manor Bed & Breakfast
3.4 mi away
Arlington Place Bed and Breakfast
5.7 mi away
Pod Brooklyn
Pod Brooklyn
#5 of 57 in Brooklyn
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Sankofa Aban BnB
Sankofa Aban BnB
#9 of 57 in Brooklyn
52 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo
Hotel Indigo
#28 of 74 in Brooklyn
622 reviews
3.9 mi away
EVEN Hotel Brooklyn
EVEN Hotel Brooklyn
#8 of 74 in Brooklyn
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Loralei B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Loralei B&B

Address: 667 Argyle Rd, Brooklyn, NY 11230-1747
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Brooklyn
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Loralei B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming 100-year old Victorian Inn located in Brooklyn's Historic Flatbush. 30 Minutes to Manhattan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your The Loralei B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Loralei Bed And Breakfast
The Loralei Hotel Brooklyn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing