We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Large rooms, nice breakfast, close to D-line” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park House Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Brooklyn
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Park House Hotel
Save
You added Park House Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #31 of 68 Hotels in Brooklyn
Certificate of Excellence
Lakewood, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Large rooms, nice breakfast, close to D-line”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We booked a suite for 4 nights. The rooms were very large with a kitchen/dining/living room area and bathroom and bedroom all of which had been recently remodeled. The only thing we lacked was a micro wave and decent cable tv. There were only about 4 stations you could watch on tv, the rest being in foreign language or did not work properly. The hallways and common areas had a worn look. The included breakfast was diverse and quite good. The hotel was just 1 block from the 50th street station on the D-line which you could use to get to downtown Manhattan in about 20 minutes. Considering the high costs in the NY city area this seemed to be a good value at 200/night.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rrocklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    37
    9
    5
    20
See reviews for
58
14
22
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

The place was worn and ragged looking. The sheets were scratchy and all the bedding had to be at least 30 years old. The mattresses in both rooms were so uncomfortable. We were placed on the first floor next to a loud, busy street, and the heater sounded like a 10 gallon tea kettle which hummed and whistled all night. The refrigerator buzzed loudly, so the plug was pulled out pretty quickly. Slept about an hour and a half if we were lucky. As if this wasn't enough, when we returned to the room later in the day the room was open, and there was no maid anywhere, or evidence of one. We had locked the door securely when we left. No one seemed to know how that could have happened. Fortunately, our belongings appeared to be intact. We were "upgraded " to a suite when we complained. The suite was no better, just a lot more of worn and ragged, still very poor quality all around. The TV was in the "living room" area, no TV in the bedroom. And trust me, you did not want to relax in the living room on the plastic-like couch provided. But at least this time it was quiet, or else we were just so dead tired from lack of sleep that we didn't notice the noise. I also noted that several times people complained that their key didn't work, and the person at the desk would hand them another and say "Try this one". Ours did not work the first time either. We had a third night reserved, but cancelled and escaped as fast as possible. I will say the people at the front desk were courteous, especially Joe.

Room Tip: Find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Foodie1259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
84 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in Park House Hotel thanks to Trip Advisor's recommendations! It was rated #1 in Brooklyn. The hotel rate was reasonable for the fact that its New York. The room is spacious with a small kitchenette. However, there is no tea making facilities in the room. You'll have to ask for a teapot if you want to boil water. Paid vending machine is available at ground floor.
Reservations through email is prompt. The Manager, Judy is very friendly and efficient. The best thing I like about this hotel is its proximity to Subway D, which is 2 mins away.
Breakfast is included. It has good varieties which includes salad which big chains like Hampton doesn't offer. Convenient stores are all over the place. Overall, my experience with this place is wonderful. Highly recommended!
One last thing, as it's next to the road, it can get noisy with cars horning. Else, it's good!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PassionBaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I stayed at the Park House Hotel on 10/13/12. The room, a studio, looked NOTHING like the pictures posted on their website. The lights over each bed did not work (switches broken), the room was COLD and the thermastat was not adjustable, the room was dirty, smelled and it was generally an awful experience. If I had booked this hotel for more than one night, I would have left, but opted to deal with it for one night. Believe me, I will never be back.

The ONLY positive was the older gentleman, Joe, who works the desk was polite and helpful. Other than that, it was a horrible experience.

Room Tip: Do what I didn't do....don't trust a website....find out from friends, etc. or do more resea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I stayed based upon a combination of price and recent recommendations. The hotel is far from luxury and seemed dated and t be honest somewhat 'tired'. The furniture was all very old fashioned heavy oak and the rooms whist spacious were pretty low grade. If this was anywhere other than close to NYC then this place would probably struggle to get any decent reviews.

As it is the place is clean, in an interesting and safe neighborhood and super convenient for the city. I get the feeling that the place is well managed and looked after but is just a long way off from a modern mid-grade hotel should be. I am not sure i would stay again despite the reasonable price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ADR99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Trip Advisor has been a great resource for me and is usually spot-on with the reviews. This time was an exception. The lobby is dark and clearly outdated; the reception desk has pen and paper cards to sign in and looks like it's circa 1955; there is one tiny elevator for the whole hotel, which means it serves as the service elevator as well. When I got there with my husband and three children, we stood waiting for the elevator for about 10-15 minutes. The only concern from the front desk was, "Did you push the button?" Not a great welcome or introduction.

We were in the "deluxe" suite, which consisted of a kitchenette with no utensils, pots, pans or plates and a full-size refrigerator that was not working when we arrived. The roll out sofa for our teenage son was, as he said, "A pile of springs." My younger children had two cots, which they said were comfortable. The double beds in the master bedroom were hard as rocks, covered with threadbare cotton blankets. There is no cable--or at least cable you would ever want to watch. Major heads-up if you have kids or like to watch CNN.

You really need to know what you are getting into when you stay here and it is not clear on the hotel's website, which touts is almost as a luxury destination. This is not the case. The surrounding neighborhood is famously home to a large Hasidic Jewish population, which provides an old world atmosphere to the area. It feels safe and quiet and family oriented. That also means all stores and restaurants are closed from Friday evening until the following Saturday evening. I understand and respect these traditions, however it is counterintuitive to those of us who are thoroughly immersed in a 24/7 culture.

The upsides are the complimentary "daily" breakfast, which we got to enjoy on only one morning of our three-day stay because breakfast is not served on Saturday and it was not served on Monday, Columbus Day. Probably the best part is the close proximity to the subway, which is two blocks away.

I did not get any charm, warmth or hospitality from this hotel. I felt it was just a way station, and a very shopworn, bland one at that. Hotels are supposed to be places where you feel at home and welcomed, not like an anonymous interloper. A nominal amount of effort to spruce the place up and get it marginally up-to-speed with common traveler expectations is definitely in order.

Add some personality, kindness, a human touch--and some new mattresses!--to help enhance the experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lisaboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I would stay here again. The hotel is well maintained with a wonderful kosher breakfast brunch that is included. The staff is friendly and helpful. It is near the great shops on 13th street and right around the corner from Spoons Restaurant which is vegetarian. Plenty of pizza places. You can also cook for yourself or order Kosher in. The price is $149+ which is great for NYC. The parking is on the street but we got lucky several times and could park near or across the street. The only drawback is the traffic congestion which is just typical NYC. If we were to come again we would take plane, train, or MegaBus and take taxi or subway since subway station is one block away. Loved this little Gem in Brooklyn!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Becky63_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
0.1 mi away
Avenue Plaza Hotel
Avenue Plaza Hotel
#34 of 68 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 stars 39 reviews
1.2 mi away
Wyndham Garden Brooklyn Sunset Park
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Gregory Hotel
BEST WESTERN Gregory Hotel
#27 of 68 in Brooklyn
3.5 of 5 stars 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
The Condor Hotel
The Condor Hotel
#5 of 68 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 stars 930 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Indigo
Hotel Indigo
#18 of 68 in Brooklyn
4.0 of 5 stars 523 reviews
4.7 mi away
Pointe Plaza Hotel
Pointe Plaza Hotel
#19 of 68 in Brooklyn
4.0 of 5 stars 706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park House Hotel

Property: Park House Hotel
Address: 1206 48th St, Brooklyn, NY 11219-3009
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Brooklyn
#10 Family Hotel in Brooklyn
#16 Business Hotel in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Boro Park, this elegant hotel is suited to the needs of both business and leisure travelers. The Park House Hotel offers luxuriously appointed suites and studios. The superb service and immaculate rooms set new standards in excellence. The Park House extends a warm welcome to its guests with coffee and tea always being served in its beautiful lobby. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Brooklyn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing