We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem”

Green-Wood Cemetery
Ranked #4 of 223 things to do in Brooklyn
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
94 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

This is such an interesting place to visit.So much history. Not hard to get to. Beautiful views. Definitely get a map. Lovely in all seasons.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank rehavia6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    662
    151
    21
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“HUGE & Full of History”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

This is a neat place to explore - yes, a cemetery - a sobering reminder of the brevity of life and full of history. Be sure to get a map at the entrance gate which will guide you to monuments for specific people and historic events. Green-Wood Cemetery is absolutely HUGE. If you want to be able to cover a lot of ground, you must take a car and drive around and make stops. My friend and I walked, which was quite nice actually, but in a few hours we probably saw less than 10 percent of the place.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank thecoralcamel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple Valley, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Historic Trolley Tour”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

One of the BEST tours I have ever taken. This place is a gem just outside of Manhattan - easy access by subway (R train, exit 25th St. Station, one block east to main entrance). Tour guide Marge Raymond was fantastic - lots of interesting side stories about many of the monuments and the Civil War. She even sang for us over Lenny Bernstein's gravesite. The grounds are stunning even in mid January which is when I visited. I'm not sure how long the tour is actually scheduled for but we left around 1 pm from the main gate and returned around 3:45 pm!! I wasn't ready to leave. This is a MUST SEE!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Bellin13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Out of This World Amazing”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

I've lived by Green-Wood Cemetery in the Sunset Park area of Brooklyn for more than 7yrs, and the beauty and size of this place is out of this world. The gothic main entrance at Fifth Avenue and 25th Street is absolutely breathtaking.
This cemetery is the final resting place of many of Hollywood's, Broadway's, and the classical music world's elite. It's a veritable who's-who when walking around it.
Grab a map at the visitors center right at the entrance to find the locations of some of the more well-known celebrities or search their computer database.
Every time someone visits me, I insist on bringing them here. Their reaction is always the same: "A cemetery?!" And then we get there and everything changes, and they are so thankful for the experience.
The mausoleums, statues, and tombstones are so gorgeous. If you are around during cherry blossom season, the cemetery is blooming with cherry blossoms down by a small lake. A lovely respite. But fall is also a stunning time to visit, when the leaves are changing.
I've been numerous times, at all times of the year, the first to seek out the tomb of Fred Ebb, famed musical theater lyricist, many times just to walk and take photographs, and most recently to attend the unveiling of a new angel atop composer Gottschalk's gravestone, complete with a beautiful concert of his music. They constantly have events and tours. Check their website for more information.
If you are visiting Brooklyn, I highly recommend a visit to Green-Wood.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank tmosterm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Important Historical Site”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

So many of the "movers and shakers" in NYC history are buried here. It is also situated in a high spot in Brooklyn and the view is amazing. It's huge and has beautiful grounds and is wonderful to explore.

Helpful?
Thank AmysTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green-Wood Cemetery also viewed

 

Been to Green-Wood Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing