We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular”

Green-Wood Cemetery
Ranked #4 of 226 things to do in Brooklyn
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Spectacular”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

THE place for New Yorkers to be buried in the post-Civil War years, it was an important destination for people both living and deceased. Combination botanic garden, structure garden, aviary (don't miss the parakets), architectural treasure - a beautiful resting place for loved ones, an expression of the ARTS for those of us still around.

Take a tour to understand better what you're seeing. Do not miss the chapel - a Neo Gothic confection designed by the same folks who brought us Grand Central Station.

Easy train ride from Manhattan (R train 25th St stop)

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank robpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

851 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    674
    152
    21
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Biloxi, Mississippi
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Leonard BERNSTEIN - Greetings!”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

I am not sure how far it is from Dekalb Avenue on Fort Greene Park to Green-Wood Cemetery - down via the new Brooklyn Nets Stadium - the Barclays Center - along Brooklyn's 5th Avenue - to 25th Street - but as those new to strange places will be aware - the distance is immaterial - so much to see and absorb - history notices, stores, eateries, other businesses - crossing the street (which way to glance first - we're from Australia - it's all back-to-front there) - but suddenly there we are - 25th Street - and the imposing entrance to this beautiful Victorian Era Necropolis ("City of the Dead") established in 1838 - the second year of the reign of Queen Victoria. Sydney - my birth-city - has the largest Victorian Era cemetery in the world - over a million burials (including my Scottish-born great grand-mother). We are greeted by a volunteer enthusiast to the Cemetery - and furnished with a map and other guidance. Persons with Passion - what a difference they make to one's visit! In Green-Wood there are more than 560,000 buried - over 4,000 who took part in the Civil War have been identified - including a number of generals. There is even a hero of the Revolutionary War, Henry RUTGERS - for whom RUTGERS University is named - buried here. Leonard Bernstein, Lola Montez, Townsend Harris (first US Consul-General to Japan is here - one of the founders of CUNY) as is Leonard JEROME - maternal grand-father to Winston CHURCHILL; and abolitionist Henry Ward BEECHER. No doubt those far more familiar with US history than I will recognise oodles of names as they wander the roadways and pathways - look from the heights of Battle Hill towards lower Manhattan - or to the Statue of Liberty - and relish the beauty of the trees - in all seasons - for many are flowering varieties - and the autumnal tints just now beginning must surely over the next few weeks become glorious! This is a place for breathing. Finally I should mention the stunning Chapel - a scaled-down version of Christopher Wren's Thomas Tower - at Christ Church College, Oxford - completed in 1911 and restored in 2001. Don't miss this place.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson Heights, New York
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Oasis in Brooklyn”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

This is a beautiful, serene day trip that is both romantic and informative. It is a nice place to think, talk and experience beauty that you would not expect in the middle of Brooklyn. I love my tour of the cemetery. Usually they are not places you would love spending time in, but this is different. I recommend the guided tour for your first visit.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank dtrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, MD
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful cemetery!”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I love to wander through old cemeteries and this is one of the best. Interesting stones and some very famous people are here.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Fellow_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Green-Wood Cemetery is one of my favorite places to walk in NYC year round. I used to live 2 blocks from it. The small stone paths that wind around the hillsides, underneath big old trees are beautiful. The history is incredible. You can learn quite a lot about NYC just by wandering through and finding interesting and unique headstones and family plots. Whenever I'm in there I try to find the oddest headstone. I once found one grave, over 100 years old, whose inhabitant basically told her family how much she hated them while she was alive.

The cemetery offers guided walking and trolley tours. I've never taken a trolley tour but if you don't fancy walking then it's a good way to see the grounds.

If you enter through the main gate keep an eye of for the parrots that make Green-Wood Cemetery their home.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Josietravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green-Wood Cemetery also viewed

 

Been to Green-Wood Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing