We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You are paying for a view that is free if you walk across the street.”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Bubby's Brooklyn - CLOSED

Bubby's Brooklyn
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Plymouth Street
Transit: F Train to York Street or A Train to High Street
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You are paying for a view that is free if you walk across the street.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

It has been a long time since I felt this ripped off and I have lived in NYC for a long time. I can only guess that the DUMBO Bubby’s business plan is to appeal to unwitting tourists that have no plans on going back again...because I cannot imagine anyone being tricked twice by this place. I have enjoyed the Tribeca Bubby’s throughout the years, but the DUMBO Bubby’s is a tourist trap with a great location and terrible service and worse food. The $19 eggs, bacon and pancakes consisted of bacon that had to be brought back because it initially came to us petrified, the replacement bacon was greasy and flabby. The eggs were inspired by Denny’s and the pancakes were decent. The$17 Chicken Caesar salad, had the lettuce as advertised but gooey chicken skin, (not crispy as advertised), and barely and dressing, invisible croutons and no cheese (as advertised). All that with tip and coffee for a mere $50. Yes you have a great location, but your food is as thought out as the Hard Rock Cafe’s. Next time I will eat in my neighborhood first and enjoy the spectacular view for free in the park across the street. Don’t get fooled here.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eric K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    18
    13
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Virgin Gorda
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Don't go there”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

I think it was the worst brunch ever. The price to high, the pancakes where very very bad and the waitress not nice and they don't know how the dishes come. In 10 minutes there were problem with 3 different tables. It's a pity because the place inside is very nice. But also the girl in charge when I told her that everything was wrong and the pancakes too salty her only problem was to go and eat her breakfast.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GuendalinaBuzzanca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wedding Rehearsal Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

Tiffany was fantastic! A few hours prior to our arrival for a Mezzanine Buffet for a party of 35 we got an email that AC was not working in the building.....Tiffany offered to move our event to the first floor where it may be cooler. Well it was warm but Tiffany and her staff made the best of it. The food was excellent and we just kept moving the fan to cool people off. In spite of the heat we had a great time.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank phillyswans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randwick, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not my favorite experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

Whatever this place once had - it's gone. Fries were cold, Toast was burnt, sandwich was obviously made hours ago. It's got nice clean bathrooms!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hangingoutwithkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great brunch but bring your wallet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

You cannot beat the Bubby's brunch in Dumbo just next to Brooklyn Bridge Park. There is always a crowd so plan some time in your schedule and get there early. It is very kid-friendly, so I am warning both sides of that divide - be prepared to have some kid crawling around your table. Food and drinks are amazing.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrAckerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bubby's Brooklyn also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing