We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value and great location for NYC hotel”
Review of Brooklyn Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Brooklyn Motor Inn
Ranked #51 of 71 Hotels in Brooklyn
Seattle, WA
1 review
“Great value and great location for NYC hotel”
Reviewed October 12, 2010

We made reservations over the phone with ease and the person taking them was pleasant. The location is perfect if you're taking a cruise leaving from the Brooklyn Cruise Terminal as we were. We got up in the morning and walked to the ship. There are also lots of good little restaurants and shops within a mile of this hotel. The physical appearance of the hotel and its location isn't great, but if you can see beyond that, you'll find quite a good value and clean room.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaBSeattle_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    20
    17
    15
    22
See reviews for
12
27
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 30, 2009

I made a reservation and canceled it, but because it was not 48 hours in advanced was charged the full price for the reservation from these rip-off artist. Reservation was made on the phone and this policy was NOT mentioned. BEWARE

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bepmoht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brooklyn hotels

London, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 16, 2009

We used this motel for a 2 day sight-seeing trip to Manhatton, which formed part of our vacation to the USA in 2008. I booked it as it was very good value, it had free on-site parking (I was drivng up from Virginia), and was within walking distance of a subway station so that we could use the subway to travel around Manhatton. It was difficult to find the motel, and I drove around for 15-20 mins before I located it, but once you know where it is it's not a problem.

The place was clean, although the room was a little small, especially as we used the roll-out bed for my son (which then barely left enough room to walk to the bathroom). The room and en-suite bathroom were both clean and the decor in good condition, as was the furniture (which included a chair and desk). The bathroom had good toiletries, and towels, and these and the bed-linen were changed everyday. Overall I was pleased with the value and service, and the fact that it had free, safe parking was the clinching factor in my choice. Much better than the terrible, dirty motel we stayed in last year...where you could hear the occupants of the next room! The subway station is a good 20 min walk, and not the 10 mins that I was told though.

Unlike the some of the other reviewers we did not see anything shady during our stay (inside or outside the motel), even on the walk back from the subway station (at about midnight).

A much cheaper option than Manhatton hotels, especially if you have a car, but you have to be prepared to walk to/from the subway station, and the additional travelling time involved. I would certainly use it again. A word of warning, you have to watch out for the porn channel on the TV!

  • Liked — value, free parking, cleaniness
  • Disliked — small room, distance from subway
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve111London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2008

Clean, friendly I was pleasantly surprised. Left each day for business in the city, returned each evening and had no issues with noise or shady characters as I needed my sleep. Room is small but so is a room 3 times the price in Manhatten.
Only down side was wireless was weak and a caution if you mind there is a X rated station on the TV if you scrol around.

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — no coffee in the room
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank delcampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2008

After a long night of drinking and running around Manhattan, my wife and I found ourselves locked out of our friends house in Brooklyn @ 4 AM, so we asked a cab driver to take us to the closet hotel.

When we first pulled up, we saw a girl standing out front of the hotel (at this point of the night i was too tired to even think) but after we checked in and got to our room it finally clicked......

The front desk is behind a thick bulletproof-looking glass window... maybe thats common, but it made me think twice before we finally decided to check in (not alot of choices @ 4 AM in Brooklyn plus we had no idea where to go). As we made our way to our room, it became very obvious, we made a big mistake.

As we walked down the hallway, we walked past a room and their door was wide open, on the floor there was a young woman screaming and crying w/ make up smeared on her face... My wife clenched my arm and pulled me to walk faster . Before we got to our room we passed a group of 4 young guys hanging out in the hallway and another wide open door that had 2 girls that looked like hookers leaving the room. I thought to myself, "where the hell are we, and what did i get us into."

We rushed into room and locked the door behind us. My wife asked me to block the door with the chair (maybe she was over reacting) but i did just to make her feel better. We sat on the bed and considered leaving immediately... but we had no where to go.

We talked and i told my wife, maybe its not as bad as we think. Maybe that girl standing in front of the hotel @ 4 AM and the girls we past in the hallway weren't hookers, and the guys hanging out in the hallway were just people like us, coming home from the clubs...... and maybe the girl sitting on the floor crying just got in an argument with her husband/boyfriend...... this place isn't that bad. Then i turned on the tv..... hardcore porn

..... ya this place is everything we thought it is. SHADY

we left immediately

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank IvanhP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2008

We stayed there 2 nights simply because we were so very late and couldn't find anything better in Manhatan at reasonable prices. We booked by telephone 3 days prior to our arrival.

The rooms are nice but everything else is far from being just OK.
It's REALLY far away from the closest subway station (20 min walk), although they say it's a 10 min short walk. So it became a pain in the... everytime we decided to visit the city.

Make sure you drive a car if you want to stay there,I think they have a parking facility.


Next time I'll for sure make my reservations in NYC in advance.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank mikel23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
1 review
Reviewed July 9, 2008

My wife and I liked it. The location is ideal for visiting our daughter, who lives in Brooklyn Heights in an apartment too small to accommodate guests. The rooms are tiny, so we booked two rooms, one for each--that's still cheaper than the Brooklyn Bridge Marriott, the only other viable choice. Redhook is an interesting place to walk around and there are a few OK or better restaurants. We found the hotel desk staff friendly and helpful. Our only gripe is that the coffee machine was out of cups and we had to walk a few blocks to get our morning coffee, but we had a pleasant walk. The parking is free and secure--a rare treat anywhere in NYC!

I'm going to book there again for the week after next.

  • Liked — Location and price
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JHPortRoyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
0.1 mi away
The LOOK hotel, Red Hook, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
1.1 mi away
Red Lion Inn and Suites Brooklyn
3.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Arena Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Union Hotel
Union Hotel
#45 of 71 in Brooklyn
3.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sleep Inn Brooklyn Downtown
1.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Brooklyn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brooklyn Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brooklyn Motor Inn

Property: Brooklyn Motor Inn
Address: 140 Hamilton Ave, Brooklyn, NY 11231-1314
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 71 Hotels in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Brooklyn Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Brooklyn Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brooklyn Motor Hotel Brooklyn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing