We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away from this MOTEL!!!”
Review of Brooklyn Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Brooklyn Motor Inn
Ranked #52 of 72 Hotels in Brooklyn
Cumberland, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stay away from this MOTEL!!!”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

I have never been in such an awful motel with the worst stuff ever seen: rooms are dirty, very small with no space to put your luggages, carpet wasn't vacuumed, the night lamps did not work and there was dust on the nightstands. The bathroom was even worse!: sink and bathtub were dirty, the bathtub was clogged up and when taking a shower you were standing in a knee high water, the sink was plugged too. The stuff members were rude, awful, ignorant, and could barely speak English. I would never ever recommend anyone to stay in this motel.

Room Tip: Even though the price may seem reasonable, it is not worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kasia k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    20
    17
    15
    22
See reviews for
12
27
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Hotel is in very bad shape. There was grafetti all over our room. Front desk workers were downright aweful. They were very rude to me and other guests. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. You will pay a lot bad accomedations and even worse service.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dtackle87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brooklyn hotels

Fairhaven MA
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

I stay in Brooklyn several times each year on business, usually at the Sheraton, Holiday Inn Express or Aloft. Last week, when none of these were available, I was forced to choose this dive. The reception desk is protected by thick glass with slots to pass your payment and collect you're keys. The hotel offers short term rates (spend a few hours with a 'friend'). The rooms are small, fairly clean, but have an odd odor. There are no public areas, the hotel offers no breakfast. It's good point is that there is parking under the building.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank DJHolroyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

I understand that in big cities where you may have a large influx of flight crews, cruise ships, etc. a "Short Stay" rate really helps those who just need to grab a few hours of sleep until they go back to work or catch their next flight. That is not what I witnessed. There is a sign taped to the bullet-proof glass window at the check-in desk that lists the "Short Stay" rates: $50 per hour for a queen size bed, $55 per hour for a king size bed. Also it states that there may only be 2 adults 21 and older per room. Hmmm. Then I saw 3 instances during our check-in of "couples" checking out after a "short stay". Hmmmm. I don't think it was because these "couples" had a babysitter at home and were enjoying a little date night fun away from home. They were prostitutes and "clients" utilizing the "short stay" rate.

Do not stay here. We did not even though we had a reservation and could not get a refund for 7 rooms. When we were trying to leave and asked the front desk attendant to call us a cab, a bootleg cab showed up and told us that taxis will not come to "this part of town". Finally a real taxi drove by and we were able to get a ride from him. His first question was "what were you all doing there? You don't belong in a place like that!" If a local cab driver thinks that regular business travelers don't belong there, I'm going to take his word for it!

Room Tip: The rooms appear ok, but one person in my group opened the door to the room and was hit with a reall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ellebeesee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooklyn ny
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I would first like to say that the brooklyn motor inn is more of a motel.So if you are expecting coffee or room service you are out of luck.However me and my girl stay here all the time and for the price the brooklyn motor inn is a great value.Off street parking means no parking on the street which is very important to me.The elevator is a little outdated but it will take you where you need to go.The property has vending machines in the garage area.Soda snapple or water.Once inside you can get your own ice from the ice machine.All this is very cool because my girl and I sometimes bring a bottle and drink while we stay there.The housekeeping staff is helpful however they are all male.which I just am not used to.The shower works well as does the sink and toilet.They provide bars of soap.The beds are comfortable.Most rooms have a fridge and microwave.All rooms have flat screen televisions and channel 31 is a porno channel.Checkout time is 11 am and you will be called by the front desk about 15 to 30 mins before your actual checkout time.You can even have them call you a cab.Overall very pleased.Please keep up the good work brooklyn motor inn.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank datruthisbak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 14, 2012

This hotel is not the Ritz, but it was nice enough for a 2 day stay. Room was clean, with a microwave, fridge, and flat screen TV. Parking is simple at any hour. Shower pressure was good and the hotel is located right off the highway... we had an overall good experience. I would defiantly stay her again for a couple of nights.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BostonS-qt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Never stay at this rathole, small rooms, strong tobacco odor, rude personal, no coffee available.Not for the family, bad bugs. Receptionist is very rude, unbelievable. Your credit card will be charged upfront, just morons, they have to close this place. Not good for anything.

Room Tip: There is nothing good to say about.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tatyana V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
1.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Brooklyn Downtown
1.2 mi away
Union Hotel
Union Hotel
#45 of 72 in Brooklyn
393 reviews
4.7 mi away
Midwood Suites
Midwood Suites
#56 of 72 in Brooklyn
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Arena Hotel
1.1 mi away
Red Lion Inn and Suites Brooklyn
1.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Brooklyn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brooklyn Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brooklyn Motor Inn

Property: Brooklyn Motor Inn
Address: 140 Hamilton Ave, Brooklyn, NY 11231-1314
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 72 Hotels in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Brooklyn Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Brooklyn Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brooklyn Motor Hotel Brooklyn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing