We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rathole!!!!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brooklyn Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Brooklyn Motor Inn
Ranked #51 of 70 Hotels in Brooklyn
Houston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rathole!!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

Never stay at this rathole, small rooms, strong tobacco odor, rude personal, no coffee available.Not for the family, bad bugs. Receptionist is very rude, unbelievable. Your credit card will be charged upfront, just morons, they have to close this place. Not good for anything.

Room Tip: There is nothing good to say about.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tatyana V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    20
    17
    15
    22
See reviews for
12
27
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Laurence Harbor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2012

I stayed in this hotel on Wednesday night and regretted ever moment. i did not check in until around midnight. When I opened the door the room appeared clean enough but it was so small the door almost hit the bed. I turned on the TV and it went directly to an "adult channel"-twice. I was on the third floor and could hear all the noise from the street. The walls are paper thin, I could hear 2 guys in the room next to me with the TV on and doing whatever all night long. and I swore I was told $75 for the room but was charged $120. Could not wiat to check out.

Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brooklyn hotels

New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2011

I just read an earlier review about a bedbug infestation in room 314 and apparently they did nothing about it because I just got bites all over my arm. i woke up in the middle of the night scratching my arm,
I caught a bed bug in a cup as proof and showed it to the lobby receptionist and he offered another room. No we dont want another room, we want a refund. He would not give it to us because he said he would have to speak to the
it was 3 am, and we were only there for 4 hours because we checked in around 11 pm.


DONT GO HERE BECAUSE THERE ARE BED BUGS AND OBVIOUSLY THEY HAVE NOT DONE ANYTHING ABOUT IT YET BECAUSE ALL THE REVIEWS SAY BED BUGS AND ITS CONTINUOUS. I CANNOT BELIEVE THEY HAVENT DONE ANYTHING ABOUT IT YET.


i took photos of the bed bug as proof, so they better do something about it.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2011

Nothing special for the money I spent on it and its stuff, specially receptionist is unfriendly, rude and they treat gust as necessary evil. You have to remember that check in time is at 3 pm so it could be problematic like it was for me. I booked my room through other website and I wasn't told that and when I arrived at 11 am I was very suprised. The receptionist told me this is my problem and that I had to wait. So ask them once again and they were slightly nicer and organised a room for me. Overall experience average.

Room Tip: Don't stay there unless there's no other option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DawidBr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

I asked a friend and a cousin who live in Brooklyn for their recommendation of a place to stay that was clean and was in a safe neighborhood. They both recommended the Brooklyn Motor Inn. We were not disappointed. It's an older property, but the room was clean, the bed was comfortable and we didn't hear any street noise from our room #308. There is off-street parking and we pulled right in.

There is a new bagel shop a block away. I don't remember the name, but the people who work there were extremely friendly. We had dinner at Caselnova, an Italian restaurant within walking distance Yummy food and enjoyable interaction with the owner.

Room Tip: We slept well in Room 308.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2011

The hotel has bedbug infestation. Stay away from this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank t k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Formosa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2011

Clean , prety , furniture like new , lcd 42" , bed kingsize .

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LuisHoracio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Red Hook
Comfort Inn Red Hook
#43 of 70 in Brooklyn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
1.2 mi away
Union Hotel
Union Hotel
#44 of 70 in Brooklyn
3.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
1.1 mi away
Red Lion Inn and Suites Brooklyn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Brooklyn
1.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Brooklyn
1.4 mi away
Sleep Inn Brooklyn Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brooklyn Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brooklyn Motor Inn

Property: Brooklyn Motor Inn
Address: 140 Hamilton Ave, Brooklyn, NY 11231
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 70 Hotels in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Brooklyn Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Brooklyn Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brooklyn Motor Hotel Brooklyn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing