We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love it...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Lynx

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Lynx
Ranked #47 of 70 Hotels in Brooklyn
1 review
“Love it...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

I would recommend this hotel to everyone. My wife and I didn't want to leave. Staff was very professional, room was clean. Planning to come back very soon. To block out the train noise ask for an room in the back of the hotel. Hope you have an good experience as we did. Trust you would want to come back to..

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Miranda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLuxeNY, Manager at Hotel Lynx, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you for your kind words! It was a pleasure to have you and your wife with us and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    31
    31
    16
    18
See reviews for
25
48
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

My stay here was unparalleled. Despite the surrounding area, I felt completely safe within the building, and my aesthetically pleasing room made my stay very comforting and cozy. The rooms and lobby were very clean/new, and there were no disturbances during my stay. The front desk staff greeted me politely whenever I entered and exited the building, which made my stay that much more welcoming. The modern furniture and the hardwood flooring allowed for a very contemporary vibe that I have not seen anywhere else. It was truly a unique and enjoyable stay. I would recommend this lovely hotel to anyone in the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edwin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLuxeNY, Manager at Hotel Lynx, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Thank you for your amazing review Edwin J!! We strive for perfection and we are so happy that you found that at Luxe. We adore our unique hardwood floors and our modern decor, so we are glad you loved it too! Hotel Luxe is truly unlike any other hotel in Brooklyn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, dc
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

We choose this hotel due to its location near an area we wanted to visit while in Brooklyn. Although the elevated rail line is right outside the front door and the neighborhood is full of auto repair shops and car washes, that really wasn't the problem. The staff was welcoming when we arrived and very friendly. The first room we checked into had no closet and not even a hook to hang your coat. Although the front desk staff seemed surprised to learn this when I brought it to their attention, and they have been open since Oct. 2013, they did accommodate our request for a different room. Yes the rooms are quite small but we thought "fine" for two nights. There was also free parking behind the hotel and the parking lot was surrounded by barbed wire and a very high wall, so even if the neighborhood was "iffy" the car seemed safe! The problems started later that night. Kids attending the basketball playoffs were a bit noisy but it was more due to the fact the wall are paper thin. Then the fire alarms kept going off all night and finally the fire department arrived at about 2pm and started banging on the door next to us. Very reassuring. Then there was a women screaming in the halls about 4:30am. So all in all not much sleep was had! So we decided this just would not work out for another night. So after a less than great included breakfast, we checked out - or tried to! The front desk agent was less than friendly and would never even our presence. We explained the situation and asked that our credit card be credited for the upcoming night ( why they charged the two nights up front was never explained). When the clerk finally spoke with us she said this could be only done by the manager. Next to the desk was a sign with "manager on duty -M. Patel" posted. We asked to see that person and was told they were not there and wouldn't arrive until at least 2pm. So why have a Manager on Duty? Anyway after much discussion, a call to booking.com the clerk finally agreed to refund the un-used night. All in all not a good experience and not one I would recommend to anyone! Also the hotel is only about 6 months old and already many things were broken or not working in our room including one of the security locks on the door!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1Brusters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLuxeNY, Manager at Hotel Lynx, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Dear Hotelmarketer,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Hotel Luxe. We are glad to hear that you felt safe at Luxe, but would like to wholeheartedly apologize for the fact that you were not able to get the peace and quiet that you deserve due to the unforeseeable circumstances of that day. Though the false alarm may have been noisy, the fire alarms and the arrival of FDNY are NECESSARY for everyone's safety.

As much as managers would like to oversee their hotel 24/7, it is unfortunately impossible because we often have to leave property during our shift to attend meetings, community functions, fundraisers, etc. Our Front Desk Agent was simply following a common industry procedure, but I am glad that she felt empowered enough to go ahead and credit you for the unused night without waiting for a manager.

I can assure you that we have the most secure locking mechanism in the industry, with a double deadbolt built into the lock itself. The AW2H lock case has a three piece 3/4 inch (19mm) latch, a hardened one inch (25.4mm) steel deadbolt and an anti-pick latch that prevents the lock case from being tampered with whilst the door is closed, rendering an "accessory" security latch unnecessary. As you can see, we take safety and security very seriously.

Please feel free to contact me directly via our email link on TripAdvisor if you have anything further to share about your experience. We strive to provide complete satisfaction for all of our guests, and all feedback is important to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brooklyn hotels

Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

The hotel was clean, rooms are clean and simple with everything one needs for a comfortable stay. The staff was very welcoming, helpful in finding a place to park when their lot was full (in front of hotel) and very accommodating when we left a day before our reservation ended. The only caveat is that the walls are thin and a late and noisy group was on our floor. Finally had to call the front desk. They were very helpful and resolved the situation. The immediate neighborhood is not charming but easy to get to other locations in Brooklyn and Manhattan.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back of the hotel away from the street front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Walkingamericans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLuxeNY, Manager at Hotel Lynx, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! We would like to apologize on behalf of some of our other guests because you did not receive the peace and quiet that you deserve. We are happy to hear that our Front Desk team was able to swiftly resolve the issue for you, and hope to have you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

I was sleep deprived and my friend's place was not working out. I remembered passing by Hotel Luxe and decided to check it out. I'm glad I did. It was clean, quiet and chic for a budget overnight stay. The bed was comfy and the room was warm. The bathroom is luxe with a large well tiled walk in shower, HOT water, contemporary lighting and a nice amount of counter space to put my things. There's a large flat screen TV and free WiFi. It was a night well spent and just what I needed. The staff was sweet, especially Carmen who helped with check out.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingHerb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLuxeNY, Manager at Hotel Lynx, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thanks for your awesome review! We are so glad you decided to come check us out. Carmen and the rest of our staff are wonderful people who make Hotel Luxe a great a place to stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

I actually live close by, but due to the "polar vortex", the pipes in our apartment burst and froze and we had no running water. My roommates and I stayed here for about a week while the pipes were getting fixed in our building.

The prices for the rooms are very reasonable. The front desk was very friendly and accommodating. We were treated very well during our stay. It's a new establishment, so everything is modern and clean. Free continental breakfast, good security, and only 15 minutes via train to Manhattan! I definitely recommend this place, great value.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JWong88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLuxeNY, Manager at Hotel Lynx, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear JWong88,

Happy to hear about you great stay!
Thank you for taking the time out to review us...we really appreciate it! It was a pleasure to have you and your roommates stay with us.

Best,
Hotel Luxe Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

SO happy we decided to stay at Hotel Luxe for New Years Eve! Simple, clean, classy, some of the most friendly staff ever, great price, comfortable beds, excellent bathrooms, good quality TVs in the rooms... absolutely nothing to complain about. Definitely recommended!! A great alternative if you don't want to stay downtown Manhattan and pay more for less or worse.

Room Tip: We had room 509. It was nestled in a corner on the top floor away from other rooms which was nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLuxeNY, Manager at Hotel Lynx, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Scott P,

Thanks for your wonderful 5-star review! As a brand-new hotel we strive to deliver the very best to all of our guests, so we are happy to hear that you had a great New Year's Eve with us. I have shared your comments with the staff and we all want to join in saying THANK YOU!

Best,
Hotel Luxe Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
6.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Brooklyn
Comfort Inn Brooklyn
#41 of 70 in Brooklyn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
2.1 mi away
Red Lion Inn and Suites Brooklyn
1.5 mi away
The Condor Hotel
The Condor Hotel
#6 of 70 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Arena Hotel
2.2 mi away
Hotel Le Bleu
Hotel Le Bleu
#12 of 70 in Brooklyn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Brooklyn
The Brooklyn
#10 of 70 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lynx? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lynx

Property: Hotel Lynx
Address: 1420 Atlantic Ave, Brooklyn, NY 11216-2812 (Formerly Hotel Luxe)
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 70 Hotels in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Lynx 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Luxe: a sophisticated and modern urban hideaway in New York City featuring contemporary amenities and stylish guest accommodations. Hotel Luxe is conveniently located on one of Brooklyn's main arteries-Atlantic Avenue. Complimentary Amenities include: Breakfast, WiFi, In-Room Coffee, Flat-Screen HD TVs with premium channels, Front Desk/Concierge Assistance for Restaurant Recommendations, Airport Shuttles, and Car Service Arrangements ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Lynx reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing