We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Pub Should Be!”
Review of Mugs Ale House

Mugs Ale House
Ranked #525 of 5,418 Restaurants in Brooklyn
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Lima
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“What a Pub Should Be!”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Went to Mugs to while away an hour or so and found it to be a warm and inviting place to enjoy great beers and delicious appetizers. Had the Calamare and the Buffalo wings. The wings had the right amount of kick and the squid wasvery fresh and juicy with a light batter. Kudos to the barman attending clients not siting at the bar quickly and efficiently. I will be returning!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlexT7801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    21
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Point Pleasant, NJ
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Beer, burgers, Mac & cheese”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

I am not often in Brooklyn, but when I am there and looking for a pub, this is where I have ended up. Great beer selection. Excellent food! Burgers, pulled pork, some of the best fries ever, as well as an amazing Mac & cheese. The other menu items look great, too. I am a gazer, and like to gaze around the room at what other patrons are eating - it all looks good!
This is just a few blocks from the Brooklyn Bowl, so I would also recommend this for a good pre-show meal with beer.
Mugs also won my heart this trip, as during the midst of SantaCon, they had a prominent sign announcing NO SANTAS! Yay!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank krissalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A beer lovers dream...”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Mugs Ale House is a beer lovers dream. They have such a brilliant array of ever changing draft lines that it’s almost impossible to choose. Whoever is working behind the bar is happy to help you try and taste what is on and the service is very friendly. It’s just a great bar. Really good local feel to it, in a great part of North Williamsburg. I’d say it’s arguably the best beer selection in Brooklyn.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gazmanjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, CA USA
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great place to sample local beers”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Decent menu and good for single travelers as its a friendly, closely packed seating arrangement. Tv's are playing for sports, but not obtrusive.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank bretthodges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Beer Selection and Good Bar Food.”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

While service is a little slow, it's amazing that the two young women who have to take care of all the customers do as well as they do. My Kudos to the servers and a knock at the management for not giving these hard working ladies more help.
My wife and I met up with our daughter and her boy friend for a St' Patrick Day celebration and enjoyed some very good food. I remember it was good, but as I had a few beers, I don't remember what I ate :) . Fun, good beer, good food; great company. Will be back next time we visit Brooklyn and our daughter.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheCosmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mugs Ale House also viewed

 

Been to Mugs Ale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing