We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good”

Karczma Polish Restaurant
Ranked #138 of 5,383 Restaurants in Brooklyn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $35
Cuisines: Polish
Restaurant details
Germany
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

The food was good, tasty and comforting (typical for Polish dishes). However, the presentation of the main course was just ok. Very simple and could be done better, prettier..
But on the other side our waitress (Malgosia) was very nice, warm and chatty. We loved her. She just made our evening there. The ambiance is nice, traditional, rustic way. We liked it. The restaurant is easy to find and quiet close to the subway station.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nemotek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    22
    3
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Estados Unidos
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Always a good time; great prices, too”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

There were four of us. After five appetizers there was some question about whether we really wanted much in the way of "main courses" (the five appetizers was actually quite a lot of food, and we hadn't ordered mains yet). My friends chose two main courses for us all to share, though; and I added another (a third main course) that hadn't been "voted on" by the group. When it all arrived, the table gasped as if it was way-too-much-food. However, I noticed afterward that all of it (every little bit) got eaten. And then they argued with me when I wanted to order a desert for us all to share. I went for the creps; which arrived HUGE on a plate with piles of real whipped cream. Again, every little bit got eaten. Total bill (recalling that it also included six or seven beers, and two shots of Zùbrowka) was $135 before tip. ["I paid that much for hamburgers with my daughter in Manhattan, just the two of us, the other day" my friend said, with an air of only-a-little exaggeration.]

I've made the trip from Manhattan to this restaurant in Greenpoint several times (too bad the subway connections aren't better) and I've never been disappointed. It is always a good time, with good food and very pleasant waitresses. Low prices, too. The only problem is that you need to be prepared to eat too much (you just can't help it). My mother was Polish; and I've been to Poland many times (traveling around and visiting relatives). This place, Karczma, is "real Polish food". I recommend it, for many reasons.

After dinner, my friend's wife and daughter went back home, but he and I went to a retail beer-store-with-taps down the street (it's called "Brouwerij Lane", one block away at 78 Greenpoint Ave) and we had some really nice imperial stout. [I recommend going there after Karczma; but it has a strange liquor license and closes early (10:00 on a Saturday, fercrissakes).]

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ArgentineTraveller6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warszawa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Little Tatry mountain in NY”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Delicious food tipical for Polish Moutain region. Resonable prices for huuuuuge amount of food. Very nice stuff especialy Ms. Małgosia:) In weekends problems with free tables. Worthy to visit.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Joanna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great food and value”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

If you ever find yourself remotely close to Greenpoint check out this restaurant. There were three of us and we ordered their grilled meat plate for 3. It is more that enough food for 5 people and it is fairly priced at $35. Our servers, at the bar and at the table, were extremely nice and fast, though the place was full. Their selection of Polish vodka is quite nice.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VMZee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Off the beaten track”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Greenpoint isn't on most tourists' itineraries, and gentrification is slowly eroding its ethnic charm. But, it remains the center of New York's Polish community and of its Polish restaurants Karczma is one of the best. If you're a New Yorker, or if your schedule allows you enough time to venture out to Brooklyn and some of the more interesting, but less visited parts of the City, give the kielbasa, pierogi and, in Winter, warm beer with spices a try.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TGMerrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Karczma Polish Restaurant also viewed

 
Brooklyn, NY
 

Been to Karczma Polish Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing