We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and value”

Karczma Polish Restaurant
Ranked #92 of 5,349 Restaurants in Brooklyn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $35
Cuisines: Polish, European, Eastern European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great food and value”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

If you ever find yourself remotely close to Greenpoint check out this restaurant. There were three of us and we ordered their grilled meat plate for 3. It is more that enough food for 5 people and it is fairly priced at $35. Our servers, at the bar and at the table, were extremely nice and fast, though the place was full. Their selection of Polish vodka is quite nice.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VMZee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    22
    3
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
130 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Off the beaten track”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Greenpoint isn't on most tourists' itineraries, and gentrification is slowly eroding its ethnic charm. But, it remains the center of New York's Polish community and of its Polish restaurants Karczma is one of the best. If you're a New Yorker, or if your schedule allows you enough time to venture out to Brooklyn and some of the more interesting, but less visited parts of the City, give the kielbasa, pierogi and, in Winter, warm beer with spices a try.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TGMerrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairhope, Alabama
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Delicious and authentic!”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

If you are hungry for some delicious and filling Polish food, this is the perfect spot! $9 lunch plate Mon-Fri including soup. I doubt we will eat again today! Authentic stuffed cabbage, pierogis and kielbasa. The best (not too sour) sauerkraut I have ever eaten. White borscht, a meal in itself, was absolutely delicious. If you aren't careful you will walk right by this restaurant...it is very humble looking from the outside. Nice atmosphere. Servers in traditional Polish dress. Great service.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Place to go!”
Reviewed November 13, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I had a Polish friend take me to this place - and it was awesome. Atmosphere, food, and service are all very authentic. Would definitely return on my own - even though I don't speak Polish!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Traditional Polish food!”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

And this is what you get, variations of: kielbasa (polish sausage), cabbage and potato! I have to say that if have ever been to Poland, this place will bring you back there in just a second once the food gets to your table! Portions are big and the food is cheap. Services is sometimes a little all over the place, but we go back from time to time because this is really authentic food! The atmosphere is nice too, you feel as if you are in a small town in the mountains of Poland.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PandPfromNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Karczma Polish Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Karczma Polish Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing