We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The burger...the burger...the burger!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tom's Restaurant

Tom's Restaurant
Ranked #21 of 5,292 Restaurants in Brooklyn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
79 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“The burger...the burger...the burger!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

The hamburger was the very best I've ever consumed. And did I ever consume it, with great gusto and gastronomic pleasure. They grind their own fresh burger meat daily and can you ever taste the difference. Yum...yum...I want more! Be warned however--cash only and they close up by mid afternoon.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank johnnyfaberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    79
    27
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great brunch spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

The food is great! The place usually has an endless line throughout the weekend. Cozy ambience and great service

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mikitorres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellant!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Breakfast is my favorite meal and I love pancakes. So I tried the lemon ricotta pancakes. I was a little skeptical about ricotta cheese in my pancakes but I decided to give them a try. They were unbelievably good. One of the best pancakes I have ever had. I also had the fish cakes and a side of bacon. They too were great. The service was great too. The staff was very friendly and courteous. What a great way to start the day. I look forward to my next visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank radiance64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great fries”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Upon the recommendation of someone at Brooklyn Botanic, we walked to Tom's for lunch after our tour of the gardens. The burger was good, though a little dry, but the fries were great, the service was neighborly, and the patrons seemed quite at home.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Monianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An Amazing Accidental Find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

We went to Brooklyn to go to Prospect Park. We wandered around for awhile looking for a place to eat lunch before we went to the park. We happened upon an interesting looking restaurant that many locals seemed to be going to. What a fun surprise! This restaurant was opened in 1939, and it looks like it probably did back then with items added to the walls over time. Our server, Carlos, was very friendly and attentive. He made us feel right at home, and he genuinely seemed happy to be serving us. They serve breakfast all day long which they seem famous for, but we ordered lunch and our meals were large and delicious. Carlos told us, "You are the best!" when we were ordering, but honestly, Carlos and Tom's Restaurant is the best! There is a memorial tree planted in Tom's memory in front of the restaurant. I am sure that Tom would be very proud that his restaurant continues to hold the values that he had when he opened this place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank traveler0814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tom's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Tom's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing