We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Expensive.... Perfect for special occassion.”
Review of The River Cafe

The River Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
The River Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 5,387 Restaurants in Brooklyn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Old Fulton St.
Transit: A or C train to High Street/Brooklyn Bridge; 2 or 3 train to Clark Street; F train to York St.; Bus #41 to Old Fulton St./Cadman Plaza West
Description: The River Cafe is open for Dinner service every day of the year. Dinner service begins at 5:30 Lunch is served on Saturday from 11:30 AM until 2:30 PM Brunch is served on Sunday from 11:30 AM until 2:30 PM
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very Expensive.... Perfect for special occassion.”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

The whole dining experience is an event! the food is exceptional, the service wonderful, but it really is expensive and unless you have money to throw away it's not the place for you.

The desserts are spectacular and end the meal in a perfect way.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Layla8484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,063 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,144
    557
    183
    73
    106
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Long dinner”
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

This place is great for special occasions. It located on the water with a great view of Manhattan. The only thing is that this will not be an hr dinner. You will be there for maybe 3 hrs as they really pace things out.

Helpful?
1 Thank TheDailyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Definitely worth the visit”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We recently dined here and had an exceptional foodie experience. We tried several things on the menu - chicken and waffles was amazing - and the presentation was fabulous! There were several things to try and definitely a delightful experience.
Interesting menu, very good service, nice wine selection, not over the top price. The food is eclectic and tasty, small dishes, great to order a few or a bunch and just enjoy the taste sensations. Listen to the wait staff, they know the menu and can guide you nicely.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sylvia966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Different class - or just a good view”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

On many trips to NYC this place was recommended to us by a work colleague.

So from the arrival with the normal (well at least in the US) valet parking and the short walk the atmosphere was set.
Being greeted and shown to the seat all seemed like we were in for something special - as I sat down I went to slip of my dinner jacket - I noticed a waiter who turned his head towards me and just a slight shake of the head meaning removal of the jacket was not appropriate.
The rest of the evening was great, followed by some pictures at the side of the restaurant where one of the waiting staff took the pictures. - I had one blown up and now hangs in my bedroom of my wife with the Manhattan sky line in the back ground.
I do think though that its location location location which means such a high price.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 63Phil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breganze, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Wonderful restaurant in Brooklyn for special occasions!”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

This elegant restaurants is located in a wonderful place, just under the Brooklyn bridge, with an awesome panoramic view on Manhattan. The elegant but also warm atmosphere, the quality of food and wine and the live music, make this place ideal for special occasions! So, if you're having holidays in New York or you just want to find a place to celebrate a special occasion, this could the right place!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Marco C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The River Cafe also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to The River Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing