We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Even better than what I had expected!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The River Cafe

The River Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
The River Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 5,292 Restaurants in Brooklyn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Old Fulton St.
Transit: A or C train to High Street/Brooklyn Bridge; 2 or 3 train to Clark Street; F train to York St.; Bus #41 to Old Fulton St./Cadman Plaza West
Description: The River Cafe is open for Dinner service every day of the year. Dinner service begins at 5:30 Lunch is served on Saturday from 11:30 AM until 2:30 PM Brunch is served on Sunday from 11:30 AM until 2:30 PM
Malta
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Even better than what I had expected!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

My boyfriend and I were travelling to New York and we had come across this restaurant before our holiday and we immediately fell in love with the view and booked a lunch there.

It was even more beautiful than I had expected! We were given a table right by the window. The restaurant is beautiful, the staff is professional and the food was delicious! The price is a bit expensive but we already knew that before we went so we weren't shocked by the bill - if you go eat there you should expect to spend a bit more than usual, but to me it was totally worth it!

We enjoyed every second of our meal! However, I was disappointed when I went to the bathroom as I found it extremely dirty - an old woman had to go in and she couldn't because of how dirty they were. This was very disappointing - but the rest was fantastic, and hopefully the dirty bathrooms was just a one off experience (maybe the cleaner was sick or something) as I couldn't imagine such a nice place keeping their bathrooms like that.

If I ever visit New York again (as I hope I will) I would definitely go back there!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ChrisleeVella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,893 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,018
    531
    172
    70
    102
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
192 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Extremely Romantic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is just a great dinning experience - of all restaurants in many cities, this might be the most romantic - looking out over the river at night with the skyline as backdrop, right under the Brooklyn Bridge - this is very, very hard to beat for a romantic setting.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Mike16Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
79 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“VERY GOOD VIEW, BUT VERY EXPENSIVE”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

NYC has so many nice places to go or see that you end up becoming spoiled and sometimes not as fair as you should be. The River Cafe is beautiful, service is very good, food is good. However, why not 5 stars? well, maybe because from the Fulton Landing place you have the same view for free... or for much cheaper you can get a ticket to take your loved one to see the same view to the sound of chamber music at the Bargemusic. For the price and quality of food, I would rate 3 stars. The food is not better than that of many wonderful other restaurants in NYC. However, for the beauty of the view, I think it could be a 4 stars.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
77 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A-mazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We booked in last minute to celebrate our wedding do we weren't expecting too much, however, despite this, after a long romantic walk across the Brooklyn bridge we were greeted at this beautiful location with celebratory (free) pink champagne and offered an amazing table. The restaurant is ideally situated on the Hudson River right next to the Brooklyn bridge and every table has a view of NYC skyline, you just can't get much better than that. Or so we thought! We were thoroughly spoilt by the staff at the restaurant. The food is amazing and just keeps on coming. Our desserts were handmade and had candles and celebratory handmade chocolates congratulating us on our wedding day. Just an amazing day that I thought couldn't get any better topped off with a wonderful evening at the Riverside Café. Thank you.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Millervanilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very good experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

I had my birthday party here last January and the experience we had was awesome! Before I begin let me tell you that I think this is the restaurant with the best NY skyline view from all Brooklyn (and even Manhattan).
Food is delicious, international gourmet, wine is good. they have fix prices from 100 to 150 dollars or menu prices if you want to.

People including chef and waiters are great as well.

Oh!! IMPORTANT. You need to make a reservation at least 3 weeks before.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DanielMoroyoqui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The River Cafe also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to The River Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing