We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It is an Event! What Fine Dining is meant to be.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The River Cafe

The River Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
The River Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 5,292 Restaurants in Brooklyn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Scenic view, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Old Fulton St.
Transit: A or C train to High Street/Brooklyn Bridge; 2 or 3 train to Clark Street; F train to York St.; Bus #41 to Old Fulton St./Cadman Plaza West
Description: The River Cafe is open for Dinner service every day of the year. Dinner service begins at 5:30 Lunch is served on Saturday from 11:30 AM until 2:30 PM Brunch is served on Sunday from 11:30 AM until 2:30 PM
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“It is an Event! What Fine Dining is meant to be.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

I live in Brooklyn and work close to the River Cafe so I have ben going here for over 15 years and it has always been fantastic! I go at Christmas and sometimes for Mother's day and sometimes just out for lunch with co-workers to celebrate!

The food is always different, always amazing and always worth the price. Attention to every detail is their trademark.

If you can imagine the view is secondary.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SailorNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,897 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,022
    531
    172
    70
    102
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Just a great restaurant.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

I've not been since it re-opened but when i last went it was as good as ever. Top food, service and great views. Looking forward to going again soon.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank MarkHippo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

The River Café is a wonderful restaurant to visit when in NYC.

The service is impeccable and the surroundings simply breath taking. The main feature (apart from the cuisine) is the view of the Manhattan skyline. For tourists it simply epitomises all that is New York.

We had a delicious meal and although the restaurant is obviously 'high end' it offered a relaxed environment which made it even more enjoyable.

It's on par with The Fat Duck or Le Manoir (in the UK) in my opinion.

Would highly recommend.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CandyTMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Picturesque and elegant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

We attend here for a private wedding reception.
Arriving at 7pm in the summer as the sun set behind the city was indescribable. The grounds were filled with beautiful blooming flowers and lush green grass with well placed bars to handle the crowd.
Once dinner began, the evening was only enhanced by the incredible deliver and quality of food, the building lite skyline, and the engaging staff.
If you have never been here, make a reservation and spend the money.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank perkinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A true classic on the New York waterfront!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

You can not go wrong here at River Cafe,
They wrote the book on fine dining in Brooklyn and hold the Title of high class dining with a view!

River Cafe to me is a Brooklyn staple, and it's our crown jewel of restaurants. Nestled next to the Brooklyn bridge in the D.U.M.B.O. area it has a quaint little garden yard in the front and a truly memorable view of downtown manhattan from the floating dining room. (Yes, I did say floating!)

The food is impeccable, the service is stellar and the price reflects fine cuisine dining and excellent service.

The oysters and caviar are top notch, the meat and fish dishes are to die for. The wine selection is one of the best in New York City and the drinks are make to perfection.

You must dress properly with a jacket, but don't worry, if you don't have one, they do provide them as long as they have your size.

Do make a reservation.
Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DamaniH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The River Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The River Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing