We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Sushi Restaurant in Bay Ridge”
Review of Bayridge Sushi

Bayridge Sushi
Ranked #926 of 5,419 Restaurants in Brooklyn
Cuisines: Japanese
Restaurant details
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
“Best Sushi Restaurant in Bay Ridge”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

All you can eat sushi is the best deal going. Lots to choose from on the all you can eat menu. Regular menu great too. Love this place!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    4
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best AYCE around”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I have been going to this place for years. Very friendly staff ans the food is very good. The AYCE is the best deal at this place. You can not go wrong eating here. They also have a full menu of non-sushi items.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank VinnyCZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Good sushi, good prices, what's not to like?”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

An old friend took me here on a recent visit to Brooklyn. With a generic name like “Bay Ridge Sushi,” I might have ordinarily passed it by. Would have been a mistake.

He and his wife are big fans of the place, and I trust his tastes, so in we went. Nicely decorated, looked clean and inviting. The staff was excellent from the moment we walked in. We were promptly seated and well-attended-to by our wait staff (which seemed to alternate among two or three people during our stay).

We went for the All You Can Eat option, and ordered a couple large hot sakes. Filled out the order form and, before you know it, we each had a variety of nigiri sushi, maki sushi and hand rolls before us. Tekka maki (tuna roll) is one of my two litmus tests for a sushi place … if they screw it up, run don’t walk to the exit.

So of course that was first on my list, along with hamachi (yellow tail tuna), hotate (scallop), ikura (salmon roe) and hokkigai (surf clam). The tekka maki was well formed, with fresh, crisp nori (meaning it hadn’t been pre-made and left sitting until an order came up). All good signs. A nice quantity of tuna in the roll, and the rice was properly cooked and tasted great. The same went for my other selections although, as other have noted in their reviews, the ratio of rice to topping is off here. Guess they make their money in the AYCE by loading up on rice. This isn’t the first time I’ve seen this, and it won’t be the last.

Round two, based on what I’d seen scanning the restaurant, was two hand rolls, one Salmon Skin and one Spider Roll (soft-shell crab), along with an order of Tamago, my traditional dessert. Again, all well prepared and presented.

The quality of the fish was top-notch all around. The forming of the nigiri and rolls was excellent, as visual presentation is so important in Japanese cuisine.

And all this for $21.95 per person! (Tax, tip and drinks separate, natch.) There are lots of restaurants to visit in the City, but Bay Ridge Sushi is definitely worth another visit.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Always reliable, affordable, and creative with item names”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

My wife and I visited Bayridge Sushi with two friends. We had been here before and love it. In fact, we make a point of returning every time since it is always so reliable in quantity, quality, and service. Do try the Lunch Specials that go from $6.95 to $8.95 per person: not bad choices available

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sburgosc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great sushi.. for all you can eat”
Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

Honestly the best sushi in Brooklyn for $21 all you can eat you can not go wrong ... great tuna sushi..

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bayridge Sushi also viewed

 

Been to Bayridge Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing