We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great and authentic Russian restaurant!”
Review of Tatiana Restaurant

Tatiana Restaurant
Ranked #786 of 5,363 Restaurants in Brooklyn
Price range: $0 - $30
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
357 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Great and authentic Russian restaurant!”
Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

Location right on the beach promenade.  Ask to be seated outside and remove the sun umbrella if it's sunny. 

Enjoyed a real Russian cuisine in the middle of this Russian enclave in Brooklyn.  All things we had and shared - starting with mozzarella julienne, Ukrainian (!) borsch, and finishing with pelmeni and delicious Chicken Kiev, while drinking Kvas (must try: prepared from dry bread, grapes and yeast) and Stolichnaya vodka - were beautifully presented and tasted unbelievably home-prepared-like and good. 

Service... Overall very friendly although few times we had to wait or look for the waiter when she disappeared.  Found her talking with guests at another table.  I actually liked that the service was such "imperfect" - it just made the whole experience so much genuine.  Was well worth a half hour ride from Manhattan!  

Highly recommended for the food and the experience.   

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Valux01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    54
    29
    10
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
151 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Like visiting a foreign country in our own backyard”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

If you want to experience something completely different, with pretty delicious food, pretty bad service, plastic table cloths, very cold beer, and a ton of Russian flavor, this is your place. We love to go here and feel as if we have traveled to another country and perhaps another decade. The food is really good! This time, we had a beet salad and a hamburger. My dinner partner is a very critical hamburger eater, and he thought it was excellent. The beet salad was fresh and delicious. We will go again and again. If you sit outside on the boardwalk, you will have a real treat, with a constant parade of interesting people passing before you. If you like people watching, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marabel100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed June 27, 2012 via mobile

Always great food! Show and music is bar none the best!

Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best beach bar on Bwalk”
Reviewed May 19, 2012

We came to Tatyana Outside Grill as a party of 8 to celebrate my cousins bday in may. Overall this is a place on the beach so you should not expect gourmet from a beach bar. We ordered steaks , salads and deserts. Servers are generally friendly but not all are highly experienced (chances are they hired russian immigrants) so dont expect them to customize whats on the menu like replacing mashed with home style potatoes. Most main dishes come with mashed potatoes - Russian favorite side dish. Order to table speed is very fast, but all food came at once - this is a busy place. All food is very fresh becuase of high turnover of people. Salad portions are lavish. Meat execution is poor - I would give them a C for all meats served. Dish decor is A - we ordered Tiramsu and ice cream - you can see it was pro decored. Freshness is A as well. Beer menu is limited however they carry a number of time-and-customer tasted favorites, so you shouldn't go wrong on those - not typical Heinikens. Total dinner of 4 steaks, 1 lamb kebab, 3 salads 4 teas, 2 coffees, 3 Sprites, 1 bottle mineral water, plate of herring, 1 tramisu and 1 ice cream came to a total bill of around $240 (plus tip extra)

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RussianRev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Horror!”
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Visited this restaurant on Mothers Day. Waiter took an order for 7 meals, however only 6 arrived an hour later and instead of fish ordered by my father he brought him chicken, and my mom did not get
her order at all, then we complained and waiter, who was exceptionally rude and obnoxious, told us that it was kitchens fault.1.5 later my mom finally got her meal but already was upset for waiting so long, she refused to eat it or pay for eat.
What a Mother day we all had!
Never again well go this place and I suggest to everyone the same.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank samandi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tatiana Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Tatiana Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing