We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice evening out”

Henry's End Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Henry's End Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #59 of 5,415 Restaurants in Brooklyn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Brooklyn, New York
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very nice evening out”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Very nice small place with an excellent menu. 10-12 wines by the glass each evening. The staff can answer any question about the wine or the menu.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank That_is_15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    45
    11
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eastover, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Rustic Charm”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

They remember your name and send Birthday specials

Henry’s End is all about seasonality and sourcing top quality products. we were told they seek out superior suppliers such as The Broken Arrow Ranch, Satur Farms, and Hudson Valley Farms, as well as the local farmer’s markets. They are always acknowledged by Zagat (which stated “this is why they built the Brooklyn Bridge”), Gourmet, Bon Appetit, and many other publications. There wine program has received the Wine Spectator’s “Award of Excellence” every year since 1984.

The small but quaint dining room features exposed brick walls, high ceilings and an open kitchen, where you can smell and watch your food being prepared. The menu features a combination of original and classic preparations. They are 40th year young in Historic Brooklyn Heights and the place look the part. They are open every night for dinner and accept reservations for parties of 3 or more.
The wait staff have been there for years and boy are they good and attentive.
In the past 10 years I have been to Henry's end probably approaching 24 times. , I have still celebrated many special occasions there. I remember the first time I approached the door, I thought, "Is this a bar?" I do not return for the ambiance or the service which is always prompt. It is about the food, which is some of the best wild game dishes anywhere.

So be sure to go for their annual wild game festival. Their mustard crusted elk chops are my favorite dish of all time.
They have an exceptional pairing of wines that changes with the menu. There is also a great selection of whisky.

Tip: They get busy quick, I usually call to reserve a table so I don't have to wait.

This is a small restaurant and a bit crowded, but the food is well worth it.

This place is truly amazing! Great atmosphere and surprisingly has various delicious options for a vegetarian. Try the sour cherry soup and heirloom tomato salad...It's a sure best vegetarian and non vegetarians restaurant. I have even had the roasted vegetables with polenta as main dish and that was perfect as well. The meat dishes are just simply interesting and good eats. The best part....dessert. The 21 layer crepe is to die for! Do not leave without trying! Service has always been amazing.
Great atmosphere and it's a very clean establishment, especially the bathrooms!! :)

Al in all Henry's End is a charming little place with some really interesting dishes. If you on a mission: to find a place that serves game meat. This place should be on your list! Yes, it's short on pretension and high on excellent game food!!!



Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Navylicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAWRENCE
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect evening”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This little gem is in Brooklyn Heights, and as the name suggests, is located at the end of Henry Street, It is a small, comfortable restaurant, with excellent service, wonderful food and a great atmosphere. With our table of six we were able to order off the Prix fixe menu, which was $30 for appetizer, main course and dessert, which I considered reasonable given this is NY and also given the quality of the food. We will be returning to Henry' End the next time we visit Brooklyn!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jayhawknation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“one of my favorites”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Henry's End is located just over the Brooklyn Bridge from Manhattan and has been serving Brooklyn Heights great food for more than 20 years. I went there weekly when I lived in Brooklyn. I now go back occasionally, most recently last night, and in the Fall when it offers its game menu. The space is small, and can be crowded. It has eclectic wine and beer menus. The menu leans toward veal and poultry. I tend to get the duck in blueberry; my wife, the chicken andouille. If you are visiting NYC and walking over the bridge, look for it on Henry Street.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TGMerrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A neighborhood favorite”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Henrys End has been a community favorite forever.
Small and intimate it has its own charm
Everything is good.
Game dinner is a favorite

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank 21504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Henry's End Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Henry's End Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing