We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“100 Proof Brooklyn!”

Totonno Pizzeria Napolitano
Ranked #166 of 5,364 Restaurants in Brooklyn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Pizza
Restaurant details
Great Neck, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“100 Proof Brooklyn!”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Yes, this pizza is good ... with a thin, crisp crust plus fresh cheese and toppings ... but I've eaten equally tasty pizza at other locales. But this is a Coney Island institution, just like the Cyclone roller coaster, and you GOTTA go! With its checkerboard linoleum, pressed tin ceiling, framed, yellowed clippings on the walls and brisk, no-nonsense ladies serving the tables, it'll really take you back ... even if you're too young to be taken back. You can almost expect Joe DiMaggio or Ol' Blue Eyes coming in for a pie. Expect a wait outside, especially on weekends, but that's part of the experience. It's fun and 100% Brooklyn!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MaryBeth527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    36
    20
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Coney Island perfection.”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

No trip to Coney Island is complete without a visit to Totonno's for us. An absolutely stellar pie. Or why not make it two...

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank UnkleMunki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Wow”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I love this place. We have gone here in the summers and walked balk to Luna Park to eat the pizza. It is great.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mimiluv94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Original”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

If you've ever had brick/coal oven pizza it's a copy of this place. All the other big name NYC places learned how to make their pies from Totonno! While a lot of the imitators have gotten the recipe right they can't take the atmosphere. I've been eating here since I was 5, my father came when he was 5 and my grandfather used to hold me up to watch the pies get made. It's no frills, but it's one of the last real Brooklyn experiences.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dyorio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Delicious pizza, rude staff”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Don't get me wrong. Totonno's is the best pizza in the Brooklyn at minimum, but don't expect them to be graceful about it. Anytime I'm in Coney Island, I make it a point to stop here, but not out of any illusions regarding customer service. If you're a native New Yorker like me, it isn't unusual to have a waitress be short with you if the place is busy (and sometimes if it isn't). If you're a tourist, this may come as a great surprise.

As for other reviews griping about them closing at 8, that's their policy. They make a certain amount of dough and close once they run out. I'd prefer that to sacrificing quality for the purpose of eating pizza at 9.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Padraic M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Totonno Pizzeria Napolitano also viewed

 

Been to Totonno Pizzeria Napolitano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing