We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Popular, Busy Place on the Boardwalk”
Review of Nathan's Famous

Nathan's Famous
Get food delivered
Ranked #10 of 109 Quick Bites in Brooklyn
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Neighborhood: Coney Island
Reviewed August 22, 2016

I've always heard of Nathans with their well known hot dog eating contest. The lines were long and slow. I stayed in line for about 40 minutes for cheese fries and a lemonade. I don't eat meat or fish, so that was my only option. The fries were pretty good, topped with the cheese. There are a few tables off to the side to eat if you can find one that is empty.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SocaQueen617
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,963)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

410 - 414 of 1,963 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2016 via mobile

Always love Nathan's. Not because the food is particularly amazing (tho always satisfying) but rather because it is iconic. Love live Coney Island!

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank nomadicus057
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2016 via mobile

Its Nathan's whats there not to like.
The good old days. Dogs are great and so are the fries. Enjoyed seeing coney island .

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank jleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2016

Have been here many times and for some reason the hot dogs did not have that crunch to them like usual. The fries were ok but it seemed like both were not cooked enough and things were made quick to handle the large crowds. Outside area was clean and well kept which is a plus. Hopefully next time will be better.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank opjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2016

We stopped to have something small to eat before we attended a concert in Brooklyn. There were four of us and we all ordered different Nathan's hot dogs. Regardless of the type of hot dogs we ordered, all the hot dogs still tasted excellent. We had plain hot dogs, chili hot dogs, and cheese hot dogs. We also ordered the regular french fries, the cheese french fries, and onion rings. All tasted very good. The onion rings are a limited availability item. These onion rings were fantastic. If you like onion rings then these are the onion rings to eat.

The negative aspect is the wait at the counter. There were many lines open to order, purchase, and pickup the food. Regardless of the number of lines, everybody was complaining about the wait. It seems the system is very inefficient. The customer places the order with a cashier and the cashier waits for the order to be finished. After waiting for the order to be cooked, the cashier picks up the order and returns to the counter with the order. Meanwhile, the cashier stands and waits at the cooking counter for the cooks to cook the order. It is then that the cashier takes the next order and the process starts for the next order. Thus, if you are on a relatively short line with three people before you, the customer must wait for the three orders to be individually cooked and the cashier standing and waiting doing nothing before the customer can order. Where is Burger King? It is more efficient to place the order with the cashier and have the cashier take the next orders while the previous orders are being cooked. We observed several customer leave instead of waiting for each order to be placed and cooked. This system brought my rating of Nathan's down a notch. I should have decreased my overall review by more than one notch but I was generous. If you are in a hurry you might have a longer wait than anticipated.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Doug F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nathan's Famous also viewed

 

Been to Nathan's Famous? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.