We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hopefully this is the one on Coney Island”
Review of Nathan's Famous

Nathan's Famous
Ranked #21 of 5,349 Restaurants in Brooklyn
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Scenic view, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Horsham
Level Contributor
77 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Hopefully this is the one on Coney Island”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Lonely Planet advised this was the birth of the hot dog and not to be missed. Loved Coney Island - the atmosphere, the beach, the funfair - the hot dog? Pretty average chilli dog with the chilli taken out. We were hungry so we went down reasonably well with a beer. If I ever go back to Coney Island - yes, I would probably buy another one. My only hot dog in the 3 week trip to the US.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ErikaHorsham_WSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,395 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    535
    500
    238
    82
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Legend”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

It lives up to it's awsome legend...I was there with my girl at the time, she was from Brooklyn so she knew all the sight's Nathans being at Coney Island is a trade mark location for anybody who goes to Brooklyn. There's plenty of room in the area to park. Hathan's takes you back in time to when the Brooklyn Coast was hopping..Thanks Samantha for showing me this place

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony-Romeo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley, Canada
Level Contributor
101 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“It looked like a hot dog from my microwave”
Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Went to the first Nathan hotdog at Coney Island and was very upset. The hot dog was nothing different then any lame hotdog my mom made me as a child.

Helpful?
3 Thank canadianballfan
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
74 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Iconic Coney Island spot, but”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

If you don't eat here, you won't be missing a thing. Poor service, greasy oily "fish and chips". Mediocre hot dog at best. I make them better at home. Good place to take some pix, since this is where they hold the hot dog eating contest but not really a good place to actually eat.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cberru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
133 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“great food”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Food is great, had the lobster roll and medium drink. if you are visiting the USA a small drink will be enough. the roll was great and the lobster perfect, after visiting Lunar Park I had a Philly cheese steak roll and small beer. drink right size and food awesome

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nathan's Famous also viewed

 

Been to Nathan's Famous? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing