We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific dining experience”
Review of Rose Water

Rose Water
Ranked #300 of 5,381 Restaurants in Brooklyn
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Terrific dining experience”
Reviewed March 21, 2012

This small Park Slope restaurant provides a wonderful dining experience. The chef creates very tasty versions of simple meals such as roasted chicken with a savory sauce, swordfish in a light curry cream, pork loin, and other delicious entrees. The service is outstanding as the wait staff is knowledgeable, efficient, and attentive. With a full house, the whole operation was as smooth as butter!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roadgirl57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    25
    14
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good neighborhood place - not worth the journey from mid-town”
Reviewed December 9, 2011

Read rave reviews on Rose Water so trekked over to Brooklyn via subway for brunch. I was prepared for a long wait - which was about an hour - and disappointed somewhat by the experience. The food is pretty good although the menu is very limited and they were out of a few items by early afternoon. Service was below average - we were never approached and offered a new pour of coffee, water never refilled, pretty much forgotten throughout meal. Obviously a hot place for the park slope neighborhood and I'd likely go back...if I lived in park slope but I'll use my metro pass for other options in the future.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank luv2rtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“One of the area's best”
Reviewed November 18, 2011

Really great American style food. Always high end fresh ingredients, always really well executed. Been there many times and never had a clunker. They were doing farm to table type cooking long before it was trendy.

Not cheap but good value for what you get. No problem getting the bill up to $100 for two with salad, main, a glass of wine and a shared desert. Only issue is that it's a small place and can be cozy or cramped depending on how you see it.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank BeeJay45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Refined and delightful brunch location!”
Reviewed September 27, 2011

Rose Water is a great place for brunch in Park Slope. The restaurant itself is tiny so be prepared for a bit of a wait. If you are looking for a restauant that uses fresh seasonal and local products as well as preparing them in a way where you can taste the food, and not just seasoning, then this is a place for you. All six people in our group enjoyed our brunch dishes, which ranged from delicious french toast, poached eggs on corncakes, slow roasted pork, and even the swordfish cakes were crowd pleasers. I honestly felt that for a prix-fixe brunch menu ($14) I was genuinely getting a great deal. Overall, the restaurant is beautiful (albeit small) and the food is prepared with a maturity and thoughtfulness that is rarely seen!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Iwouldratherdrive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“simply fantastic”
Reviewed January 14, 2011

A wonderful culinary experience. The duck was exquisite. The service was superb - very attentive, good advice with the wine. This place is somewhat pricey but you absolutely get your money's worth.

  • Visited November 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank razdaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rose Water also viewed

 

Been to Rose Water? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing