We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best pizza I've ever eaten”

Grimaldi's Pizzeria
Ranked #34 of 5,416 Restaurants in Brooklyn
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best pizza I've ever eaten”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

After reading the reviews about Grimald's I made a special trip to Brooklyn to see what the fuss was about. When in New York finding the perfect pizza was on my list of things to do.
It was everything I expected and more. Quite simply, the perfect pizza. Friendly staff in a warm cosy traditional restaurant - I could have asked for more.
After lunch I walked back into Manhattan across the Brooklyn Bridge, making it quite a spectacular day.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melissa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,679 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,364
    1,141
    674
    270
    230
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Dont come for the service”
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

We got here around 11.15am on a monday and were third into the restaurant when it opened at 11.30am. The guy who greeted us (i think he was the owner) wasnt very friendly. The toilets were quite bad too. What was annoying is that once we were seated it took about 10 minutes to get served - there seemed to be no waiters around. We also noticed people who walked in after us were eating before us. My husband asked for some more ice for his water and you should have seen the look the waiter gave us. The pizza was nice- nothing to rave on about. Ive had better pizza elsewhere. I guess its the thing to do but if i come to new york again i wont come back here.

Helpful?
Thank MissV282
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ligonier, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“excellent pizza”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

There's a long line but it moves quickly and the pizza is excellent. I admit that when we visited we thought we were going to the original Grimaldi's. We didn't learn until later that the original was in the building next door. This was a big deal to the doorman at our hotel. Must be a sticky point for locals. No matter - the pizza was wonderful, the beer good, the service fast and friendly.

We ordered a large pizza and thought we wouldn't eat the whole thing. We did. ;)

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DianeCips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“The spot”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Located perfectly close to the subway. Grimaldi's is under the Brooklyn Bridge. We arrived and were greeted by a long line. Be patient and you will be rewarded. After 45 minutes we got a table. It was worth the wait. We ordered the pepperoni, it was a taste sensation, perfect base. A must try in Brooklyn.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank MrPeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Good NYC Pizza in a popular tourist location”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

It is ocated right beneath the Brooklyn Bridge. There is always along line of people waiting for a table at Grimaldi's, about 30 -45 minutes!
Earlier lunch times during week end days (before 12:00 noon) may have shorter wait.
Once you get in, there is a relatively long wait time as well since the restaurant is large with 3 floors and there is only one wood burning brick oven.

Grimaldi's menu, and its decor is modest, simple and focused. The tables are covered in traditional red checkered tablecloths. There is nothing fancy about this place.

They serve only pies (no slice) with very thin crust, which come in either six or eight-slice sizes. One person can eat a whole pie though, since they make very thin crust pizzas, with light cheese and good sauce.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ac c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grimaldi's Pizzeria also viewed

 

Been to Grimaldi's Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing