We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced but hey! Free wifi ;)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
International Student Residence
Perth, Australia
1 review
“Overpriced but hey! Free wifi ;)”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

The rooms are roofless so you can hear any laughing, snoring, or sexing on your floor (good for them...not for their neighbours trying to sleep). It's in Williamsburg. Really cold bathrooms. The staff are helpful and the kitchen is very spacious. Overpriced. But if. You stay here you HAVE to try the coffee and bagels from Otha's two blocks west at the bottom of the Marcy Ave station staircase. So good!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank user1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    34
    49
    24
    41
See reviews for
1
8
84
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

I paid for a single "room". No rooms at all. Please travelers take note: no rooms. And it's not only a problem with the single rooms:they simply don't have walls. Only a 1.80 m separée which closes just the space of the bed. I was able to hear my floor mates whispering, speaking and listening to the radio (and they did it till 4 am in the morning). Plus the light of the other rooms, which of course lights YOUR room too (no walls as i was saying). Wi-Fi only at ground floor; it stopped working the night i arrived and, although several advises from the hosts they didn't fix the problem (i stayed other two nights). All this for a ridiculous amount of money (200 dollars for 3 nights). A complete waste of money.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JulespasJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brooklyn hotels

Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

I was looking for a place to spend the night as my flight was cancelled. Did not expect much for the money I was paying, but this place is really nice, bathrooms are shared by the floor, but they were very clean. Front desk staff was very polite and helpful. The lounge area was very comfortable and got to meet other people whose flights were also cancelled. Cheap and nice place, thumps up!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Johanna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

I stayed in a single room. The room (such as it is) was about 5'x8' with a twin bed, small metal locker (no lock provided) and a small mirror. As other reviewers have mentioned, the walls don't go up to the ceiling and you can clearly hear everything happening in the rooms around you. At about $60 per night (plus tax) it was definitely cheap by New York standards, but even so considering how spartan the rooms are it doesn't feel that that much of a bargain.

Unlike other hostels there wasn't really anything in the way of organized activities or tours. Pretty much the only interaction I had with the staff was check in and check out.

The neighborhood around the hotel isn't bad, but also doesn't have too much of interest near by. The more fashionable part of Williamsburg is about a mile away. However it's only half a block to the Marcy ave. which has several convenient lines running into Manhattan.

Room Tip: The train noise isn't so bad in the rooms away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank aghiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

This hostel has a great area to hang out in which has couches with TV's, a big kitchen, ping pong table and a pool table. This was really the only good thing. The dorms were so tiny that two people with luggage cannot fit inside at the same time. Also the walls don't go up to the ceiling so you can hear everything from the hall to the people next to you. Also could hear people in the bathrooms. Bathrooms had no place to put toiletries and clothes while showering. Made it kind of awkward to get changed. Location was good and close to some cool restaurants/bars. Also subway was super close by.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mia880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

My experience was terrible. The staff of the front desk is not very polite and incompetent.
I absolutely not recommend this place. I booked a room for me and a couple of friends, but I decided to cancel my reservation and I called them. The guy who I spoke on the phone told me that my reservation has been cancelled, but, a few days later, they charged me the whole amount of the price and when I called them back the lady who I spoke was so rude. So, stay away from this hostel.

Room Tip: Don't book a room in this hostel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Giorgia10681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Hubby stayed here for a week while working and apartment hunting. It's a hostel - so minimal privacy, space, quiet, etc. - but if you are travelling alone and don't mind those "hostel-y" attributes, B is a very good value for the price and we would recommend it for what it is. Hotels and even rooms for rent in the area are twice the price or more. In August my husband paid $35ish per night and what he got was a clean, newly renovated, safe/reliable place to sleep, with a super convenient and easy commute into Midtown.

Room Tip: Bring a lock if you have valuables. They have lockers in each room but do not provide locks. Bring e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erica Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Le Jolie
Hotel Le Jolie
#4 of 71 in Brooklyn
1,340 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Condor Hotel
The Condor Hotel
#10 of 71 in Brooklyn
988 reviews
1.0 mi away
BKLYN House
BKLYN House
#28 of 71 in Brooklyn
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
McCarren Hotel & Pool
McCarren Hotel & Pool
#14 of 71 in Brooklyn
1,070 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pointe Plaza Hotel
Pointe Plaza Hotel
#24 of 71 in Brooklyn
750 reviews
1.0 mi away
The William Vale
The William Vale
#7 of 71 in Brooklyn
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to International Student Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about International Student Residence

Property: International Student Residence
Address: 341 Broadway, Brooklyn, NY 11211-7302 (Formerly B Hotel & Hostel)
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — International Student Residence 1.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HostelWorld and HRS so you can book your International Student Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing