We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food”
Review of Sahara Restaurant

Sahara Restaurant
Ranked #660 of 5,383 Restaurants in Brooklyn
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: n the summer, this sprawling Turkish restaurant offers a lovely garden in the rear where you can dine like the luckiest of desert dwellers, under trellises thick with grapevines, surrounded by squash and cucumber plants.But for urban nomads slogging through a New York summer, Sahara offers something even more useful: a thriving takeout business.Those who have lived with intense heat/cold know best that the way to eat is to eliminate complications. Simple food simply prepared is the secret, and at this Sahara excels. A shepherd's salad is no more than cubed tomatoes and
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“good food”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

authentic Turkish cuisine, good hearty food, well prepared.
the decor is a bit old fashioned, but that's part of the charm for me, and the service is excellent.
location is not great, but the place is well worth a visit, especially if you're around the neighborhood.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank molly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    26
    16
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
boulder, co
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Unbelievable!”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

This is some of the best middle eastern food I have had anywhere. Just the freshly baked break and fresh tzadziki sauce make it worth the trip! I never visit NYC without eating here at least once!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fredstrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, NY USA
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Was my first visit and probably my last. Not that it was horrible, but pretty bland food and rundown decor. We ate in the outside space and had a selection of appetizers and chicken main courses. I did like their little baklavas with a cup of tea. It is not a place for a "quiet" meal however, the fellow diners and kids running around made it hard to hear at times.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vacationaddictnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great place for all”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

I truly love Sahara. You can not have a bad meal. Everything is delicious. We eat there at least once a month. If it were closer we would eat there more. Everything is fresh. The Shepard's salad is delicious - the humus is also delicious. I love their salmon kebabs, chicken adana and calamari. The Family loves the lamb chops and lamb gyro. I can't forget the delicious bread served with everything. We also love their desserts. There is not a bad dish there. The restaurant is huge that you NEVER have to wait for a seat. They also have outdoor seating - which is lovely when there are no mosquitos.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisK29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holbrook, New York
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent Food!!”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We have enjoyed this establishment a number of times...the lamb kebabs and chicken kebabs are the best..grilled to order...salads yummy too!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chumley_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sahara Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Sahara Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing