We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Buy it here, but take it home”
Review of Di Fara Pizzeria

Di Fara Pizzeria
Ranked #130 of 5,362 Restaurants in Brooklyn
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Pizza
Restaurant details
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Buy it here, but take it home”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

About 10 years ago, my friend said, "Common, I'll take you for the best slice of your life." When he mentioned the corner of E.15th Street and Ave. J, all I could say was, "Kosher pizza?" No. Domenic DiFara's pizzeria in this Jewish retail bastion is "one of those things that's not like the others...one of those things that doesn't belong..."
I had run past the inconspicuous store front with the faded PIZZA sign a million times on my way to the track at Midwood Field, and never imagined there was actually an active pizzeria there.
Without reservations, this is the best Sicilian (square) pizza I've ever had anywhere. The round pies are also spectacular, but the square is special, with a thinner crust than customary. Domenic uses 4 cheeses, and spices he grows in the shop window hanging like Chia Pets. This master pie making machine has only one speed--slow. He's like an athlete in the zone--his focus is only on the pie, one after another. The money absentmindedly finds its way into the antique register, and it doesn't matter how much he raises his prices, the demand never waivers.
His son runs the back kitchen which turns out the traditional fare of italian eateries for the rare customer who doesn't order pizza. His daughter also pitches in. I once asked her if she could make pies as good as her dad. "The round, close, but not the square," was her candid reply.
Be warned, the place looks like a dingy dump, with cheap linoleum floors. Good luck finding a place to sit for more than two. Don't come here hungry; expect to wait an hour. And don't ask how much, just pay what you are told. Grab your pie, and take it home to enjoy. On a Friday night, when Avenue J is a ghost town after the Orthodox population retires for the Sabbath, the only sign of life is a long line of luxury cars parked outside DiFara's waiting patiently for their pies!!!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ilsignore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    63
    28
    18
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Leandro, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best pizza ever!!”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Best pizza ever hands down!!! Worth way more then they charge. Just expect a wait but still worth it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrriceguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Over-rated? Or just a bad day?”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Well, my wife and I finally caved in and gave Di Fara a try after hearing almost everyone rave about it. I have lived in Brooklyn all of my life and have eaten my fair share of pizza. We had to wait on line for about 30 minutes until they re-opened after their afternoon break. The place was kind of dirty and there were just a few small tables to sit at. Not your usual pizzeria, but I forgot that this was "Di Fara" the gourmet establishment (sarcasm here). After waiting one again, we ordered 3 slices...at $4.50 a pop. This better be good. Again, a 20 minute wait. The pizza crust was burnt and chewy. The cheese and sauce with the fresh basil was good but the overall taste and mouth feel of the slice was extremely disappointing. Definitely NOT WORTH it!! I don't understand all the rave reviews...did they just have a bad day? I don't think so.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ross T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Yummy!”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Di Fara Pizzeria has the best pizzas ever! Its so tasty and delicious. Sometimes the wait can be a little long but its worth waiting for. The prices are extremely reasonable.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RickyFoxes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
355 reviews
244 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Still the best pizza in Brooklyn”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

With dollar-a-slice pizza joints opening all over Manhattan, the lines still form to pay five bucks a slice at Da Fara Pizza on Ave. J in Brooklyn. Is it the several types of cheese imported from Italy? Or the imported olive oil and great sauce? Or the distinct way Dominick fashions each pizza and finishes it off with a cut of fresh basil right on top? You can't go wrong with all of the above and you're talking about a sensational piece of pizza that will leave you drooling for more. This is a non-descript place that you would probably walk by without a nod if you didn't know some of the Country's best pizza is made right here. I favor the square pie which I find more sturdy and able to hold all that sauce, cheese and olive oil. But they are both excellent. Try it!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shellyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Di Fara Pizzeria also viewed

 

Been to Di Fara Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing