We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try the Bacchus cafe”
Review of Bacchus

Bacchus
Reserve with OpenTable
Bacchus is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #131 of 5,349 Restaurants in Brooklyn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $35
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Between Bond & Nevins Streets
Transit: A, C & G trains to Hoyt-Schermerhorn, the B, Q, 2, 3, 4 & 5 trains to Atlantic Avenue, and F to Bergen at Smith.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Try the Bacchus cafe”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Cute new little cafe next to the established Bacchus restaurant. Lovely French server was very friendly and offered my friend and I a free taste of the little 'chouxquettes' which I thoroughly recommend. Nice pastries on offer, as well as cooked breakfast. Coffee was good but chai tea was a little weak - I'm sure they will try and make it stronger if you asked!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KAWJuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    49
    6
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Another top lunch”
Reviewed June 7, 2012

While staying with friends in brooklyn this past april, my wife, baby son and his godfather wandered in to Bacchus. we sat in the window at a table made from a piece of old bowling alley. I ordered the bavette with fries and a glass of rosé. it was delicious. the french waitress was very friendly and helpful too.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Will M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
165 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“What a Great Find”
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Small French Bistro nestled in a narrow space on Atlantic Avenue in Brooklyn. The tapas tasting tray (prunes wrapped in bacon, marinated prawns, crispy pork belly, serrano ham slices, and warm brie tartines) was different and delicious. While we were waiting to be served it seemed like the whole neighborhood was coming in for the onion soup and the Mussels and French Fries house specialty. My table selected the trout special of the evening, mushroom ravioli (particularly good) and the beef bourguigoun (a little heavy but incredibly tender and flavorful). Desserts are a must. The Creme Brulee and the apple Tarte Tanin were excellent, just the right sweetness, This area is about to take off. It's a ten minute walk to the Brooklyn Academy of Music (BAM) and the soon to be opened new home of the NBA Nets. I hope the restaurant retains its neighborhood character, what a great find.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FamilyMan13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“customer service?”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

went to this restaurant after the opera yesterday.cute little place romantic ambience. my wife ordered the special trout fillet en papillate perfectly cooked and presented,except for one thing.when my wife asked for lemon,we were told they didn't have any . we thought this odd since we were on atlantic ave. in brooklyn,not in backwoods wherever.there was no comp for this other than an i'm sorry. imagine our surprise when we walked outside and saw a fruit stand across the street.i know this is a small restaurant but c'mon.did you not want me to come back?ok i won't

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cusfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairhaven MA
Level Contributor
96 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A real treat - this is a real French bistro”
Reviewed November 4, 2011

I've spent a lot of time in France over the years, and have always wondered why small family run bistros, common all over France, can't thrive in US cities. This is the real deal. The prix fix menu for $25 is excellent. Three of use ate selections from it. The offer several mussel dishes, duck pate, creme brulee. What's not to love. Good wine list with some interesting wines (a red Sancerre and a Saint Chinian I'd never seen before).

I'll be back soon.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank DJHolroyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bacchus also viewed

 

Been to Bacchus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing