We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Genuine khalidji food”

Yemen Cafe and Restaurant
Ranked #119 of 5,364 Restaurants in Brooklyn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Middle Eastern
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Genuine khalidji food”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

I love this place! Simple, delicious food. Lovely atmosphere, almost like being in someone's home. Wonderful fresh bread. Soup, salad and spicy sauce served to everyone prior to your main meal. Sweet tea available on tap. Very reasonably priced. Friendly, respectful crowd. My absolute favourite restaurant in NY and an instant tonic to any homesick feelings for the Gulf.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TerrierLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    18
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Delicious and authentic”
Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

From the moment we stepped through the door I felt like we were in the Middle East. People speaking their own language, photos of Yemen and the food, well lets start there... The food was amazing!!! It tasted so authentic and fresh. The service was great, even though they were very busy, we were treated as if we were the only ones there. It's great for the price because of the amount of food you get per plate. I would eat there all the time if I lived in NYC. And when I go back to NYC I will always make sure I stop to eat there every time.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank liljana v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ribas, portugal
Level Contributor
81 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lively atmosphere”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Good food and a lively atmosphere make this a very pleasant restaurant. Excellent and friendly personnel that works very hard make sure that everything is running smoothly here.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank arie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Tasty middle Eastern food in the heart of Brooklyn”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We were very pleased with the tasty dishes we were treated at Yemen Cafe. The restaurant had a very authentic feel and food very pleasing to the taste buds. If you're interested in trying something different while in town, definitely give Yemen Cafe a go!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DanTreasure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Massachusetts, USA
Level Contributor
76 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“The best of Yemen”
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

It's hard to add anything to the other 5-star Trip Advisor reviews. We stayed at a hotel in the area, walked over and could not have been more pleased. Definitely worthwhile. Great great tea.

Helpful?
Thank E1mb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yemen Cafe and Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Yemen Cafe and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing