We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My neighborhood go-to”
Review of Aurora

Aurora
Reserve with OpenTable
Aurora is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #40 of 5,383 Restaurants in Brooklyn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $40
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Brooklyn, New York
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“My neighborhood go-to”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

I live in Williamsburg and have been to Aurora at least a dozen times. It's perfect. The pasta is homemade. The fresh burrata is mind blowing. The wine list is great. The outside area (open even in winter) is lovely. I've brought friends from out of town, planned birthday dinners here and have visited just with my husband. I wish more restaurants were as solid as Aurora.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank itsmemichelicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    62
    14
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Nice outside area, decent Italian, smallish portions.”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

There are so many quality Italian restaurants in the area that you have to be pretty spectacular to get a great rating. At first this place was impossible to get a table... now its not so hard. The menu is contemporary Italian and well enough prepared. I found the portions small, a bit pricey and good but nothing spectacular. The outside garden is one of the nicer attributes of this place.
Its okay but that's about it. If you were walking by and decided to stop in it would be okay... going out of your way... trying to hard to be trendy is how I feel about this place.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sirenanathalieNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Hook, New York
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Dream Wedding”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Our son was married here last weekend and Aurora exceeded all expectations. The enclosed patio (much larger than I thought from the photos) was ultra charming and evocative of a quaint European locale - so romantic. The food was excellent. Service from set up before the event to coming to pick things up after was wonderful. People offered to help in the most sincere ways, showing concern beyond what was required - the type of real connection that is a world apart from the corporate programmed type of interaction. These are the things that make such a difference during an event so important as a wedding. Can't wait to come back and bask in the glow of the memories.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Carolyn48473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Level 6 Contributor
49 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Very nice!”
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Took the family here a few weeks ago and really enjoyed it overall. Terrific apps: Nice flatbread, great tasting homemade sausages. Grilled octopus wasnt one of the best I've had but tasty nonetheless. Pastas where good but probably the weakest points. Garganelli with pork Ragu was good but it didnt look like authentic Garganelli, more like Pappadelle shape. Pasta special with crab was on the greasy side but still enjoyable.
Wild boar with Polenta was very good and so was the fish special (fluke if I remember correctly).
Desserts were the highlight especially the Panna Cotta. I would come back

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank ziggy60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Fantastic food, great service, friendly staff. A must!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kharro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aurora also viewed

 

Been to Aurora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing