We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious pizzas, Charming decor”
Review of Juliana's Pizza

Juliana's Pizza
Ranked #2 of 5,362 Restaurants in Brooklyn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Welcome to Juliana's, a New York-style pizzeria. Juliana's heralds the return of Patsy Grimaldi-not only to the NYC restaurant scene, but to the original location under the Brooklyn Bridge where he co-founded Grimaldi's Pizzeria with his late wife, Carol. Unbeknownst to many, Pat & Carol severed their affiliation with Grimaldi's in 1999 when they sold the business (along with the name). Even though they were no longer involved in the restaurant, they never lost their passion for serving truly great pizza. And so, with a desire to re-live a "dream come true", they have partnered with close friend and former guest Matthew Grogan to establish Juliana's, a neighborhood pizzeria, preparing and serving pies the way Patsy has for generations. Named in honor of Pat's mother, Maria 'Juliana' Lancieri, Juliana's occupies 19 Old Fulton Street, in the Fulton Ferry Historic District, in the building that was once home to Grimaldi's.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
253 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Delicious pizzas, Charming decor”
Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

We were heading to Grimaldi's but were disheartened by the long line. Luckily, next door is Juliana's, a smaller pizzaria with a charming decor, great ambiance and friendly service. The oven baked pizzas are delicious and meant to be shared as even the smaller size is large enough for two. The only negative is that there is only one restroom, so be prepared to stand in line, though that would allow you time to peer into the kitchen and admire the preparation of your pizzas!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank CityEnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,929 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,333
    462
    96
    27
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
165 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Great pizza, Great service, Great location!”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

A Brooklyn native took us for pizza at Juliana's which is located directly next door to the more famous Grimaldi's. Both are brick oven pizza restaurants. He assured us that the only difference between the restaurants was not the pizza, but the line outside you wait in. While Juliana's line was out the door, Grimaldi's was much longer, thus, I was more than happy to try Juliana's since we just walked across the Brooklyn Bridge and had tired feet and hungry stomachs! (There is actually some history behind the 2 pizza restaurants being next door to each other that you can read online, but I didn't care as long as the food was good.)

We started with 2 pizzas, a small and a large, gobbled those, then ordered another large to go. They were delicious! All the ingredients they use is very fresh, so much so that you can taste the difference from midwest pizza recipes. The crust is thin and tasty. The "kitchen" is visable from the restaurant so you can see them make each pizza and put it in the brick oven.

I was very impressed by the family type atmosphere created by the owners and staff. While waiting in line outside, we were greeted by someone who assured us it wouldn't be a long wait. Inside, we were approached by both the older male and female owners of the restaurant that wanted to make sure everything was perfect. We assured them it was. Our server had a constant smile on his face and was very prompt considering we ordered a pizza to go on top of our original order. Overall, it was a great experience in a very friendly and happy setting!

As we left, I wanted to go tell the chums waiting in the other line that the food next door at Julianis was excellent if they didn't want to wait, but didn't have the guts to do so since I have never tried Grimaldi's to expound on the differences. I just knew what I had was good and trusted my host who says they are similar. I'll tell whoever reads this however!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank SuSanSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snohomish, Washington
Level Contributor
90 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Skip the lines, this pizza's great!”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Before walking the Brooklyn Bridge back into Manhattan, we planned to grab lunch in Brooklyn Heights. Having previously eaten at Grimaldi's, I planned to share this experience with my family. The line there was extremely long - I'm guessing a 2 hour wait - but Juliana's was much shorter and was advertised as also owned by the Grimaldi family. The service was efficient, and pizza served under the scrutinizing eye of the owner who gave her nod of approval to each one. It was the best pizza we had while in NYC. The biggest surprise was how fabulous both the salads were that we tried - the Caesar and the basalmic dressed house salad. Try it all - you won't be disappointed that you stood in the shorter line.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kristen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Introduced to this place by a friend who lives in Brooklyn whilst we were over from the UK. Definitely the best meal we had in NY. It was busy, but no queue (not sure what the point of waiting for the place next door is all about?). Lots of fresh toppings and a perfect base. If I am ever in NY again, I will definitely return. At some point, I guess the queue outside will be for this place rather than next door. Recommended.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York, USA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Exactly. Why wait in Grimaldi lines?”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

This place is really, really really good. The pizza is amazing. Waiting in line for half an hour to eat pizza at Grimaldi's is not only wrong, but it makes you look stupid, since you could have better pizza at Juliana's. Maybe some people like to wait in line for everything. Who knows?
At Juliana's, the pizza is made with the finest ingredients, great San Marzano tomatoes, fresh mozzarella and great olive oil. Great job guys.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NY_restaurateur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Juliana's Pizza also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Juliana's Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing