We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Italian in Williamsburg, with a local feel!”
Review of Oregano

Oregano
Ranked #13 of 5,418 Restaurants in Brooklyn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best Italian in Williamsburg, with a local feel!”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

I have been going to Oregano since it opened almost two years ago. This place is truly a gem, low key but homie, tasty and delicious. The quality of the food and the service is just the best in the hood. The owner and the staff are super friendly and helpful. You have to bring your own wine, and there is a great little wine shop right across the street in case you are not local.
I can assure you that you will be satisfied and very pleased with any plate, but my favorites plates are:
Starters: Bruschetta, or the Eggplant Parmagian. Also, the house salad is simple but super fresh and perfectly seasoned (I swear it tastes like italy).
For the mains, the Oregano Pizza is outstanding, it has a middle eastern twist of labne cheese, spices, cherry tomatoes and arugula. Also the four cheese and the Prosciutto di Parma pizzas are delicious. I always look at the daily specialties first, but from the regular menu, the squid fruitti di mare, the gnocchi vodka and the shrimp fettuccine al fredo are also great.

But my all time favorite is the Calzone!!! ...and add Portobella mushrooms ;) or whatever you want to add, there is a large list of items to add on.

Great for lunch or dinner, the place is charming and well decorated, it has a garden in the back and a beautiful fire oven for the pizza. I must advise you, you might be coming back for sure.

Here is the site: oreganowilliamsburg.com … and enjoy it!
P.S: Nutella Pizza for desert (or main if you have sweet toot like me) ;)

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JorgeAroundTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    40
    12
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Taste of Italy !”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Delicious food, fresh homemade pasta & homemade desserts that are to die for!!! Oregano is my favorite restaurant and I am sure it will be yours too ! The atmosphere is warm and inviting. The staff are so nice and friendly !! It reminds me so much of Italy !! I can't tell you how much I love Oregano <3

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marie41891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bloomfield, Michigan
1 review
“The place to be in Brooklyn”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

I flew in from Michigan & heard about this restaurant. We had to wait for our table, but it was well worth the wait. The atmosphere & crowd were amazing. The service was even better. We shared squid ink pasta & the tartufata with truffles. Both were delicious; out of this world!!! Definitely the first place I will come to the next time I fly back to NY!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amani A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Nice spot”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

We went for the pizza. And some apps.. The pizza was nice, but a little pricey at $20 for a 12inch Fig (very few), goat cheese & prosciutto pie. The minestrone soup for $8 was in a large looking bowl, but it really wasn't much to it. Maybe 4 beans in the soup with carrots, zucchini & celery. But it was tasty. We also had the polenta with fried egg on top & truffles. Egg was overlooked and the dish needed salt, yet it was pretty good too. They bring you a complimentary dish of olives with two tiny pieces of focaccia (we were 4 people) so I asked for 2 more. The bus boy went to the owner who seemed annoyed and they never brought it over. That's was tacky. I'm telling you to was
1" x 2" bread.. Love the BYOB but $7 corking fee? Totally unnecessary. You're paying good money for the food here... The other food looked great, especially the eggplant parm & the pasta dishes. I'd go back to give it a try.. But I'd never compare this place to the best Italian food in NY..

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank freshpeetza2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very nice food”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Went for a night out here as it was recommended on trip adviser. Nice food and bring your own bottle, which kept the price down.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vaughanio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oregano also viewed

 

Been to Oregano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing