We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming owner, great food.”

Giovanni's Brooklyn Eats
Ranked #336 of 5,349 Restaurants in Brooklyn
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Charming owner, great food.”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

First impression: Giovanny is so charming that you feel at ease right away. Second: there are tablecloths on the tables and it is a sign that the restaurant has an European flair. It is a detail but it means genuine RESTAURANT. Then, the food and the wine are just great.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AR1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    10
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice quiet dinner spot in Brooklyn”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Small restaurant with excellent food and service. No reservations – a 15 - 20 minute wait was what we were told when we arrived and true to his word, we were seated 15 minutes later. For appetizers, we had the Calamari & Zucchini Friti and the Zuppe di Cozze in white wine sauce – both dishes were prepared perfectly – the friti was crispy and served with a spicy marinara. The mussels were also cooked perfectly in a very tasty lemony white wine sauce. Dinner was the Vitello Salti in Bocca (veal scallopini sauteed in white wine, layered with fresh sage, prosciutto & mozzarella cheese served with rosemary roasted potatoes) and Bistecca alla Griglia (grilled hanger steak served over garlic mashed potatoes & fried cipollini onions. Again, both deliciously prepared.

The atmosphere was casual and cozy, the decor has a rustic feel. Service was attentive and always with a smile. We shared Tartufo and coffee for dessert to finish off our dinner. Overall, It was pleasant dining at very reasonable prices.

I am looking forward to going back and trying the salads and the pasta dishes. There were so many choices and everything looked good! I went for a special that evening because it sounded like something I would enjoy and I did.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NYCDayDreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A great find”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

My friend and I had dinner here last week, and it was delicious. The restaurant itself is cozy and has a good deal of charm. The staff is friendly and when you order a glass of wine, you get an actual big glass that's pretty full. The food was wonderful, we both had one of the specials and it's pretty cheap. I'd definitely recommend and go back myself.

Not bad for something my friend looked up on yelp on her phone in about 5 minutes' time.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cathy_Cl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn New York, USA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“brooklyn eats”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Giovanni’s is right in my neighborhood, so I feel a bit like a cheat putting it on tripadvisor. But the place is awesome. The food is great, and relatively cheap. The wait staff is super friendly. Whenever I walk in, I feel like I’ve been transported into that friendly, neighborly Brooklyn that is on TV shows or movies set in the 1950’s. It’s a Brooklyn where everybody knows everybody even when they don’t. Giovanni’s is definitely worth a trip out to the “South Slope” if you’re visiting NYC.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tomgray347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful food”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We ate as part of a party of 6 on Thursday, December 13. What a great time! Appetizers ordered included calmari, l'arugula and garden salads. Entrees of lasagna, spaghetti pomodoro, steamed mussels and shrimp were all tremendously enjoyed. Our waiter and waitress were superb as was the bartender. We ordered 1 of every dessert to share which included tiramisu, almond cake, cheesecake, and something wonderful with chocolate and ice cream, the name of which I can't remember. All was delicious. Giovanni's is a small, neighborhood restaurant and the time and attention to detail shows. I highly recommend it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank apronstrings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giovanni's Brooklyn Eats also viewed

 

Been to Giovanni's Brooklyn Eats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing