We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's too good to be true”
Review of BKLYN Larder

BKLYN Larder
Ranked #1,632 of 5,349 Restaurants in Brooklyn
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Restaurant details
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“It's too good to be true”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

The lemon sorbet. My neighbor gave me a pint of lemon sorbet some time ago as a thank you for lending her a staple gun. Though i appreciated the gift, i soon realized it was all a ploy to get me to frequent the Brooklyn Larder. The sorbet, the lemon sorbet. It... is... amazing. I thought i could eat through the gift container and resist the urge, but i now find myself walking into the larder on a weekly basis to get my fix of the lemon sorbet. It's so good, it can't be good for you. If just can't be.

So, consider yourself warned. If you visit the larder, it likely won't be your last.

Oh, and they sell cheeses, bread and other stuff too.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rory C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    2
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn
Level Contributor
72 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“I Love Larder!”
Reviewed April 8, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Best sandwiches and prepared food...and Italian groceries. It's hard to go in and not get distracted by every amazing food items in there - from sweets to amazing meats and cheeses. Staff also always nice. It's my go-to place.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Vilasinee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bklyn
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Bread”
Reviewed November 13, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

BKLYN Larder is wonderful addition to the 'hood. Great for hors d'oeuvres, weekend lunch or picking up a few prepared dishes for weeknight dinners after work. Love the edited cheese selection. Very friendly and helpful staff, willing to educate, though it is often busy. I often pick up Christmas stocking stuffers or hospitality gifts, as well. And, the bread is great. NY is a city of bread and we often choose to buy bread here over other options in the neighborhood.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank gmailjunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!”
Reviewed November 11, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Stopped in for lunch during a bike ride around Brooklyn with my sister. Had a sandwich, kale salad and a drink. Everything was fantastic. Highly recommend stopping in here for lunch, or picking up some meats, cheeses and assorted other items to take home. Will be heading here often for all they're delicious offerings!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
“Great food. Expensive”
Reviewed October 31, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Gourmet. Handmade. Homemade. Worth the trouble and the cost. But wow, what cost. If you want a ready made meal, great sides or just a cheese tour around the world, they can deliver.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jaime S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BKLYN Larder also viewed

 

Been to BKLYN Larder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing