We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty food, good drinks”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Pok Pok NY

Pok Pok NY
Reserve with OpenTable
Pok Pok NY is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #102 of 5,322 Restaurants in Brooklyn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
71 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Tasty food, good drinks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

The food is delicious... fish sauce wings, green papaya salad, muu khan waan (pork neck dish) and the cha ca la vong. Not too much to the place itself, its like eating in Thailand though so you're definitely going for the food. Is it worth the hour + wait? If you have nothing else to do. Otherwise go during the week and avoid weekend dining. The hostess the Thur night we went was rude and irritated. Maybe if she was fed one of those wings it would have helped her, other than that you go for the food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    52
    25
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copake, New York
Level Contributor
94 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“way, way out of the way”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

first to get there: a real chore for a midtown Manhattanite. We had friends kind enough to drive but they cautioned us that they would pick us up at 415 to get there at 515--BY CAR!
WE did and were first on line for the 530 opening.
Tiny, charming restaurant with full bar. Food superb but difficult to describe in terms of highly sophisticated and different flavors. We never order chicken wings but did here and they were "to die for" (fortunately not from). The various salads we tried were different and luscious. Vermicelli and pork a disappointment but all else wonderful.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank claire1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Long line to wait, but great food and friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

I went to this restaurant with my girlfriend for her birthday. They unfortunately don't take reservations so we got there at 5:30 on the dot (when they open) and still had to wait 30 mins in line just to get our name on a waiting list. Another hour after that, we received the call that our table was ready. Aside from all the waiting, everything else was excellent. The wings, the atmosphere, the staff, everything was great and the prices are fairly reasonable. We ordered 4 dishes and tried the ice tea with evaporated milk which was amazing and while the individual portions were small, 4 was just right to fill us up.

I'd go here again, but I'd shoot to get there early enough to be in the first seating (I'm guessing arriving 30-45 mins before they open should be good).

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
107 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Chicken wings a must!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

We had read so many different comments on this restaurant. We were very glad we went. The ambiance is very informal which adds to the experience. The chicken wings were soooo good that I wish I had had time to just nibble on them until the bone was white! They had a vegetable dish with fern that was just incredible. I can't remember the names of the plates but the waiter does a good job of describing the ingredients. The only dish we had which was good but not great were the pork ribs. The sauces that came with them were taste but the overall experience of the ribs was okay. The doughnut desert is a must. The melted ice cream with coffee and the light and crispy doughnut was delicious. I would go back for just that. Also, the selection of beers is not huge but there is something for everyone.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank prnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
312 reviews
232 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Portions Fairly Small, But Generally Good and Filling”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

The food selection here mostly represents Northern Thailand, thereby offering interesting alternatives to what one finds in typical Thai restaurants. The Papaya Pok Pok salad was tasty, although a bit too spicy for the member of our party who ordered it. The baby back ribs were probably the least successful dish that we tried; the meat was OK, but definitely needed the accompanying sauces to turn it into anything remotely interesting. The Chiang Mai sausage was very good -- spicy and flavorful -- although there was less of it than we would have liked; ditto for the catfish. A fiddlehead salad (first of the season) was an excellent accompaniment to the other dishes.

Food portions are relatively small (and therefore a bit expensive), although they turn out to be quite filling. Pok Pok is quite popular, and does not take reservations. They will not seat a party until all of its members have arrived.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MichiganBanjoMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pok Pok NY also viewed

 
Brooklyn, NY
 

Been to Pok Pok NY? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing